MAPS Board of Education

Manistee Area Public Schools

Welcome to the Board of Education & Central Office

Mission

“Chips lead by providing an inclusive, high-quality, diverse educational environment that inspires and fulfills the goals of all learners at every stage of their journey.”

Vision

“Leading a connected Manistee learning community, which supports the educational journey of each individual student, delivering The Chippewa Edge.”

Chips Lead!

Board of Education News

Central Office & Board of Education


Location: 550 Maple St, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: (231) 723-3521
Fax: (231) 723-1507
Central Office Hours: M-F: 8:30am – 4:30pm


Superintendent: Ronald Stoneman

Board of Education President: Paul Antal, MD

 

Central Office Staff

Ronald Stoneman
Superintendent - rstoneman@manistee.org

Howard Vaas
Business Manager - hvaas@manistee.org

Amber Kowatch
Curriculum Director - akowatch@manistee.org

Sue Gustad
Assistant Business Manager - sgustad@manistee.org

Sara Schubert
Payroll/Human Resources/Insurance/Lunch - sschubert@manistee.org

Nancy Day
Administrative Assistant - nday@manistee.org

 

Board of Education

Paul Antal, MD
President - pantal@manistee.org
Term expires 12/31/2024

Paul Wehrmeister
Vice President - pwehrmeister@manistee.org
Term expires 12/31/2024

Shelley Johnson
Secretary - sljohnson@manistee.org
Term expires 12/31/2022

Jim Thompson
Treasurer - jathompson@manistee.org
Term expires 12/31/2022

Theresa Anderson
Trustee - tlanderson@manistee.org
Term expires 12/31/2024

Dale Sparks
Trustee - dsparks@manistee.org
Term expires 12/31/2020

Ashley Sensabaugh
Trustee - asensabaugh@manistee.org
Term expires 12/31/2020

 

 

Board of Education Regular Meeting Schedule


All meetings are on the 2nd Wednesday of the month at 7:00pm unless otherwise noted

 
January 15, 2020 : Manistee Middle + High School: 525 12th St.
February 12, 2020 : Kennedy Elem: 550 Maple St.
March 10, 2020 : Kennedy Elem: 550 Maple St. (updated 2/25/20)
April 8, 2020 : Madison Community Learning Center: 1309 Madison Rd.
May 13, 2020 : Jefferson Elem: 515 Bryant Ave.
June 10, 2020 : Manistee Middle + High School: 525 12th St.
July 8, 2020 : Kennedy Elem: 550 Maple St. *Regular/Semi-Annual Organizational*
August 12, 2020 : Kennedy Elem : 550 Maple St.
September 9, 2020 : Kennedy Elem: 550 Maple St.
October 14, 2020 :Madison Community Learning Center: 1309 Madison Rd.
November 11, 2020 : Jefferson Elem: 515 Bryant Ave.
December 9, 2020 : Kennedy Elem: 550 Maple St.
January 13, 2021 : Manistee Middle + High School: 525 12th St.

*Dates indicated in Red indicate a change of the normal schedule

 

Board of Work Study Meeting Schedule


All meetings are on Wednesdays at  7:00pm unless otherwise noted

January 29, 2020 : Kennedy Elem: 550 Maple St. (Combined Work/Study Session with Michigan Great Lakes Virtual Academy Board)
February 27, 2020 : Kennedy Elem: 550 Maple St.
March 20, 2020: Kennedy Elem: 550 Maple St.
April 24, 2020 : Kennedy Elem: 550 Maple St.
May 21, 2020 : Kennedy Elem: 550 Maple St.
June 26, 2020 : Kennedy Elem: 550 Maple St.
July – No Work Study
August 28, 2020 : Kennedy Elem : 550 Maple St.
September 25, 2020 : Kennedy Elem: 550 Maple St.
October 23, 2020 : Kennedy Elem: 550 Maple St.
Tuesday, November 26, 2020 : Kennedy Elem: 550 Maple St.
December – No Work Study
January 27, 2021 : Kennedy Elem: 550 Maple St. (Combined Work/Study Session with Michigan Great Lakes Virtual Academy Board)

*Dates indicated in Red indicate a change of the normal schedule

 


Regular Meetings are held on the 2nd Wednesday of the month at 7:00PM. Work/Study Sessions are held on the 4th Wednesday of the month at 7:00PM. Meeting dates/times/locations may be changed. Call the MAPS Board Office at (231) 723-3521 for additional information.
 
 

 

Mission

 “Chips lead by providing an inclusive, high-quality, diverse educational environment

that inspires and fulfills the goals of all learners at every stage of their journey.”

Vision

“Leading a connected Manistee learning community, which supports the educational

journey of each individual student, delivering The Chippewa Edge.”