Jefferson Elementary School

Grades: K-2 | Manistee Area Public Schools

JEFFERSON QUICK LINKS  |  Handbook : Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Jefferson!

All District buildings will be closed due to a statewide directive for school closure, beginning the end of the school day Friday, March 13 extended through the end of the 2019/20 school year.  

Please understand that the closure impacts all district resources. Building entry will be strictly prohibited, which will include access to all interior and exterior athletic facilities. No activities, no coaching, no practices, no games, nor inside or outside use of facilities will be allowed at this time. This directive will be in place until the state order is lifted.

In an effort to help our student and families during this school closure, we have created a resources page that will be regularly updated with information and links to assist in many ways. Click the resource button below.

Nurturing young learners with guiding principles, we are dedicated to making the classroom experience fun and rewarding. Our practical tools and techniques help your students begin their learning experience on the right foot. Great beginnings create future leaders.

Chips Lead!

 

Time to Register for Pre-School & Kindergarten!

The time has come to start planning for your Little Chips entry into Pre-School or Kindergarten! You can register to receive your information packet and a special surprise for your little one!  Just follow the link below.

 

Kennedy Welcomes Third Graders!

 

Madison Morning Care

Welcome! At Manistee Area Public Schools we want the very best for all of our students. We have developed a continuum of education from Pre-School to 12th Grade that support each student on their Chippewa Journey.

Each morning, the MAPS educational community engages in the critical work of professional development at each school. This means schools start approximately 30-35 later than a typical school day.

To address any Madison Morning child care needs, MAPS will be piloting Monday morning child care at Madison for student KG-5th.

Please let us know if you are interested in receiving more information about Madison Morning Care by completing this registration form:

 

Personal Item Pick Up

We have made arrangements with each of the school buildings for the collection of personal items left behind by our students. Janitorial and administrative staff will be collecting personal belongings from lockers and classrooms, bagging and marking those items and making them available to families during times scheduled below. If you are unable to pick up your items during these times, please reach out to your student’s teacher so that we are able to make alternative arrangements.

Jefferson Elementary The pick-up lane will be staged in the parking lot. Please remain in your car and a staff member will approach you for the name(s) of your student(s). Please note: The school grounds will remain closed to all other activity including the playground.

June 2 through June 4 grade levels will be allowed to pick-up on their designated day with two shifts each day from 9:00 am until noon and noon until 3:00.

June 2: 2nd Grade (Brown & Bradford – am) (Tomaszewski & DeJong – pm)
June 3: 1st Grade (Erdman & Wilson – am) (Forward & Johnson – pm)
June 4: Kindergarten (Lundberg & Veine – am) (Slawinski & Adams – pm)
3pm-6pm evening hours for all grades w/ custodian (June 4 only)
June 5: Any/all grades 9am-1pm

Food Services During School Closure

Manistee Area Public Schools Food Services Team working in conjunction with the Michigan Department of Education will continue to provide the Grab & Go nutrition program available to all students of our community ages 18 and under through June 30th.  We are currently awaiting details regarding the Summer Feeding Program that is anticipated to follow the current nutrition program beginning in July and will provide an update once the details are finalized. 

Any family in the Manistee community with students 18 and younger are welcome to come to the Manistee Middle High School from 11:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m., Monday through Friday to pick up bagged breakfast and bagged lunch meals free of charge. Those interested are directed to pull through the designated pick-up/drop-off lane at the main building entrance. Food services representatives will meet vehicles curbside with bagged meals for the number of student meals needed. Friday food service will also provide meals to feed students through the weekend.

These meals will be provided following the nutritional requirements of our Summer Feeding Program and will consist of cold food items including an entrée, vegetable, fruit, and milk with each meal. Hot food will not be made available during this time, due to time and temperature safety requirements for foods served. Meals are able to be picked up for students that are not able to be present. 

We are continually seeking ways to support our MAPS students and families and are grateful for this opportunity to serve our community by providing expanded food services. This essential nutrition program is made possible in cooperation with the Michigan Department of Education and the kindness of our dedicated food services staff that will serve our students through this unplanned school closure.

Mary Wahr's Virtual Art Exhibit

Jefferson Elementary teacher, Mary Wahr’s exhibit was supposed to launch at The Ramsdell Regional Center for the Arts on April 3, 2020, however due to COVID-19, live exhibits are temporarily unavailable. The Ramsdell has made Ms. Wahr's exhibit available through a virtual gallery experience that can be viewed online. Their plan is to open her live exhibit at the Ramsdell in the fall of 2020. 

Goodbye Mrs. Kaminski!

Jefferson Elementary students and staff wish Mrs. Kaminski a happy retirement!


Jefferson Students in the Community & Classroom

Jefferson Announcements

Jefferson End-of-Year

Everyone at Jefferson is missing our traditional end-of-year activities, but we know keeping everyone safe is our most important job!June 2nd-June 4th, we have an opportunity for families to pick up any items left at school and for kids to see their teacher before...

read more

Questions about Kindergarten Fall 2020?

MAPS Kindergarten teachers have arranged virtal WELCOME sessions for parents to meet the staff and ask questions about their programs. You are able to register for a session online at: www.chipslead.org/kindergarten-round-up/.  These KINDERGARTEN WELCOME sessions...

read more

Ready for Kindergarten?

Each year in the spring Manistee Area Public Schools hosts a Pre-School & Kindergarten Round Up welcoming new families to the school district.  Due to the required school closure and Stay Home, Stay Safe Order, Round Up will be managed a bit differently this...

read more

Your Jefferson Team


Location: 515 Bryant Avenue Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: 231-723-9285
Fax: 231-398-2021
School Office Hours: M-F: 7:30am – 4pm


Administrative Team

Principal: Julia Raddatz – raddatzj@manistee.org    

Secretary: Connie Miller – camiller@manistee.org

View Jefferson Staff
Administrative Staff

Julia Raddatz, Principal   raddatzj@manistee.org

Connie Miller, Administrative Assistant   camiller@manistee.org

Instructional Staff

 

Elizabeth Adams, Kindergarten    eadams@manistee.org

Krista Bennett, Math Coach   kbennett@manistee.org

McAnn Bradford, Second Grade  mbradford@manistee.org

Daniel Brown, Second Grade  dbrown@manistee.org

Linda Coyle, Special Education  lcoyle@manistee.org

Andrea Dejong, Second Grade   adejong@manistee.org

Deb Erdman, First Grade  derdman@manistee.org

Amanda Feyen, Music afeyen@manistee.org

Debbie Forward, First Grade dforward@manistee.org 

Staci Johnson, First Grade sjohnson@manistee.org

Cindy Lundberg, Kindergarten  clundberg@manistee.org

Tracy Shimel, SafeNet  tshimel@manistee.org

Ruth Simoneau, Title I, Literacy Coach   rsimoneau@manistee.org

Christine Slawinski, Kindergarten cslawinski@manistee.org

Bryan Tomaszewski, Second Grade  btomaszewski@manistee.org

Allison Veine, Kindergarten aveine@manistee.org

Mary Wahr, Art mwahr@manistee.org  

Michelle Wilson, First Grade mwilson@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Mary Chick                         mchick@manistee.org    

Rachel Lindeman            rlindeman@manistee.org

Amy Miller                        amiller@manistee.org

Randee Oleniczak             roleniczak@manistee.org                  

Connie Rybicki                  crybicki@manistee.org

Laura Savela                    lsavela@manistee.org 

Kristie Schlafley                    kschlafley@manistee.org 

Clayton Slawinski          cbslawinski@manistee.org

Jan Wills                           jwills@manistee.org

Anna Wojcik                     awojcik@manistee.org

Julie Zajac                          jzajac@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Robert Jacobs                   rjacobs@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Laura Olk                         lolk@manistee.org      

8:00 – School Begins
 
Lunch Times:
11:20 – 11:55 : 1st
11:30 – 12:05 : 2nd
11:45 – 12:20 : 3rd
 
3:15 – School Ends
11:00 – School Ends Half Days

At Manistee Area Public Schools we want the very best for all of our students. We have developed a continuum of education from Pre-School to 12th Grade that support each student on their Chippewa Journey. Our devoted teachers, administrators and support staff take a very personal approach to educating students at every level. We encourage parents and community members to join us as we guide our students toward their peak potential.

Madison Early Childhood/Elementary:  Pre-school (ages 3-5)

Jefferson Elementary:  Kindergarten- 2nd grade

 

Important Information for Parents!

By law students must be (five) 5 years old on or before Sept 1, 2020 to register.  

Mandatory Information Needed to Enroll

  • Official birth certificate
  • Immunization records
  • Last 4 digits of the student’s social security number

 

Other Suggested Documentation if Applicable:

  • Proof of current Hearing/Vision Screening (screenings will be offered at no charge during clinic if needed)
  • Individualized Education Plan (IEP) - if applicable
  • Parental Rights/Custody Documentation - if applicable

 

If you have any questions please contact Connie at Jefferson Elementary School at 723-9285.  We look forward to welcoming you and your child to the MAPS family!

MAPS Elementary ATP

 

Chocolate Fundraiser Update

Due to the extension of Stay Home ruling, the distribution of the Chocolate has been postponed until May 1st. While we cannot legally distribute the orders at this time, we continue to work behind the scenes with World’s Famous to ensure that all the products are in our hands and ready to deliver to students’ families the very moment the order is lifted. We appreciate your understanding and continued support of MAPS ATP.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to email us at mapsatp1@gmail.com.

 
 

Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Madison, Jefferson, and Kennedy

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact Julia Raddatz raddatzj@manistee.org, or Kevin Schmutzler kschmutzler@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.

 
ATP Fundraiser Update 5-11-20

🍫 Chocolate updates—-We have some sweeeeet news to share! We will be reaching out to families this week to make delivery arrangements! While we are taking every precaution on our side to minimize any risks with delivery, we encourage our MAPS families to do the same when distributing! Any questions related to this fundraiser can be directed to mapsatp1@gmail.com. Thank you for your continued patience during this time, and your overall support of MAPS ATP!

What are the objectives of the ATP?

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration
What does ATP do?

We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

ATP Fundraiser

2018 Fundraiser - Wesco Popcorn Buckets! - MAPS Elementary ATP is pleased to announce that we are again selling the Wesco Popcorn Buckets this year.  We are so excited to partner with our local Wesco Stations to make this possible.

Buckets will sell for $12 each and can be refilled for FREE at all Wesco stations around the state from now until December 31, 2019!  This is a great holiday gift idea!  See the announcements section on this page for details about our 2018 fundraiser, and check back for future fundraising information.

ATP Points Tracker

Starting January 2019, ATP is starting a point tracker for volunteers!

How do I earn points?

  • Every ATP event (popcorn day, slushy day, winter carnival, etc.) every 2 hours you volunteer, you earn 1 point.
  • For showing up to our ATP meeting that’s once a month, you earn 1 point.
  • For suggesting a friend to volunteer & they show up for at least 2 hours, you earn 1 point.

 

All the points you earn will be entered for a drawing. At the end of the year, we will choose two winners. We hope to have a ton of volunteers!

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at Jefferson Elementary

Jefferson Elementary School starts our littlest “Chips” on their educational journey with Kindergarten, 1st grade, and 2nd grade.  Students in 3rd-5th grade attend Kennedy Elementary, and 6th-12th attend Manistee Middle/High School.
We look forward to working with you and your child to provide the best education possible. By working together, your child will have a happy and successful school year. If you have any questions please contact the me at (231) 723-9285 ext. 3372, or by e-mail at raddatzj@manistee.org.

We offer the following programs throughout the year:

  • Safe & supportive digital learning access
  • One-to-one technology – iPads
  • Daily art activities
  • Community recreation opportunities
  • Family night activities
  • Peer mentoring
  • Grade level focused field trips
  • Girl & Boy Scouts
  • Flexible before and after school care

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips always tell the truth

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips listen and are polite

A | ACCEPTING — Chips are friends to all

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work as a team

K | KIND — Chips are thoughtful and caring


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.

Academic Excellence
  • Safe & supportive digital learning access
  • One-to-one technology
  • Daily art activities
  • Peer mentoring
  • Grade level focused field trips
Extracurricular Activities
  • MRA athletics
  • Community recreation opportunities
  • Family night activities
  • Girl & Boy Scouts
  • Flexible before and after school care
Parent Involvement

Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Madison, Jefferson, and Kennedy.

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration

What does the ATP do?: We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact or Kenn Kott kkott@manistee.org, or Kevin Schmutzler kschmutzler@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.