Jefferson Elementary School

Grades: K-2 | Manistee Area Public Schools

JEFFERSON QUICK LINKS  |  Handbook : Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Jefferson!

Nurturing young learners with guiding principles, we are dedicated to making the classroom experience fun and rewarding. Our practical tools and techniques help your students begin their learning experience on the right foot. Great beginnings create future leaders.

Chips Lead!

COVID-19 NOTIFICATION

In an effort to keep our MAPS community informed, below we are providing notification regarding any COVID-19 concerns related to our District.

 

 

Time to Register for Pre-School & Kindergarten!

The time has come to start planning for your Little Chips entry into Pre-School or Kindergarten! You can register to receive your information packet and a special surprise for your little one!  Just follow the link below.

 

Welcome Back!

Kennedy Elementary Principal, Joanie Wiersma welcomes you back for the 2020/21 school year.

 

Welcome to Jefferson Elementary!

The school year is just beginning and we want to welcome all of our learners. Some of you will be learning with us in the classroom and others will be learning along with us online. We welcome you all for a great year of learning adventure!

Meet your teacher in our welcome videos below.

Meet the Kindergarten Teachers

Meet the First Grade Teachers

Meet the Second Grade Teachers

Food Service Program

With support from the United States Department of Agriculture and Michigan Department of Education, Manistee Area Public Schools is grateful to be able to extend free meals for all children 18 and younger in our Manistee community through the end of the 2020-2021 school year in June 2021.  Once funding is no longer available, our Food Service Department will return to the National School Lunch Program parameters for public school food service.

Beginning Tuesday, September 8 MAPS will be serving all in-person learners free breakfast and lunch every school day at each building in the district.  We will also be offering free Grab & Go meals Mondays and Thursdays at Manistee Middle High School at MMHS at 525 Twelfth Street from 9 am to 10 am.  This food service program is available to all MAPS online learners in addition to any Manistee community families with children 18 & younger and students with disabilities up to 26 years of age. 

Grab & Go Food Service program details:

  • Grab & Go meal service will begin on the first day of school, Tuesday, September 8. Breakfast and lunch meals for 4 days will be served that day.
  • Beginning September 14, meals can be picked up Mondays and Thursdays.
  • Curbside pick-up will be available at the MMHS main entrance drive at the student drop off area.
  • Meals provided on Monday will be breakfast & lunch for 3 days.
  • Meals provided on Thursday will be breakfast & lunch for 4 days to provide meals through the weekends.
  • Families of in-person learners are also able to pick up 2 breakfast and 2 lunch meals for their students on Thursdays to provide food through the weekend, following the same pick up instructions above.
  • If a holiday, snow day or school day scheduled to be off occurs on a Monday, the meal pick up will be Tuesday.
  • If a holiday or school day scheduled to be off occurs on a Thursday, the meal pick up will be Wednesday.  (Example Thanksgiving)
  • If a snow day, or other closure, occurs on Thursday meal pick up will be Friday.

We are grateful for the ability to continue providing this important service for the children of our community through the funding support of Federal and State agencies.  


Jefferson Students in the Community & Classroom

Jefferson Announcements

Jefferson iPad Pickup

In preparation for the upcoming school year, we have planned drive-thru registration and device pick-up days to allow our families to provide their commitment for in-person or online learning, to turn in registration forms, and to receive their iPads and...

read more

Your Jefferson Team


Location: 515 Bryant Avenue Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: 231-723-9285
Fax: 231-398-2021
School Office Hours: M-Th: 7:30am – 4pm, Friday 7:30am – 3pm


Administrative Team

Principal: Julia Raddatz – raddatzj@manistee.org    

Secretary: Connie Miller – camiller@manistee.org

View Jefferson Staff
Administrative Staff

Julia Raddatz, Principal   raddatzj@manistee.org

Connie Miller, Administrative Assistant   camiller@manistee.org

Instructional Staff

 

Elizabeth Adams, Kindergarten    eadams@manistee.org

Krista Bennett, Math Coach   kbennett@manistee.org

McAnn Bradford, Second Grade  mbradford@manistee.org

Dan Brown, Second Grade  dbrown@manistee.org

Linda Coyle, Special Education  lcoyle@manistee.org

Andrea Dejong, Second Grade   adejong@manistee.org

Deb Erdman, First Grade  derdman@manistee.org

Amanda Feyen, Music afeyen@manistee.org

Debbie Forward, First Grade dforward@manistee.org 

Staci Johnson, First Grade sjohnson@manistee.org

Monte Klein, Artmklein@manistee.org

Cindy Lundberg, Kindergarten  clundberg@manistee.org

Tracy Shimel, SafeNet  tshimel@manistee.org

Christine Slawinski, Kindergarten cslawinski@manistee.org

Bryan Tomaszewski, Second Grade  btomaszewski@manistee.org

Allison Veine, Kindergarten aveine@manistee.org

Michelle Wilson, First Grade mwilson@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Mary Chick                         mchick@manistee.org

Andrea Jones                   

Rachel Lindeman            rlindeman@manistee.org

Amy Miller                        amiller@manistee.org

Randee Oleniczak             roleniczak@manistee.org                  

Connie Rybicki                  crybicki@manistee.org

Laura Savela                    lsavela@manistee.org 

Kristie Schlafley                    kschlafley@manistee.org

Sara Schultz          sschultz@manistee.org

Clayton Slawinski          cbslawinski@manistee.org

Anna Wojcik                     awojcik@manistee.org

Julie Zajac                          jzajac@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Thomas Madsen                   tmadsen@manistee.org

Robert Jacobs                   rjacobs@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Laura Olk                          lolk@manistee.org

Terri Morski                          tmorski@manistee.org

8:00 – School Begins
 
Lunch Times:
11:20 – 11:55 : 1st
11:30 – 12:05 : 2nd
11:45 – 12:20 : 3rd
 
3:15 – School Ends
11:00 – School Ends Half Days

At Manistee Area Public Schools we want the very best for all of our students. We have developed a continuum of education from Pre-School to 12th Grade that support each student on their Chippewa Journey. Our devoted teachers, administrators and support staff take a very personal approach to educating students at every level. We encourage parents and community members to join us as we guide our students toward their peak potential.

Madison Early Childhood/Elementary:  Pre-school (ages 3-5)

Jefferson Elementary:  Kindergarten- 2nd grade

 

Important Information for Parents!

By law students must be (five) 5 years old on or before Sept 1, 2020 to register.  

Mandatory Information Needed to Enroll

  • Official birth certificate
  • Immunization records
  • Last 4 digits of the student’s social security number

 

Other Suggested Documentation if Applicable:

  • Proof of current Hearing/Vision Screening (screenings will be offered at no charge during clinic if needed)
  • Individualized Education Plan (IEP) - if applicable
  • Parental Rights/Custody Documentation - if applicable

 

If you have any questions please contact Connie at Jefferson Elementary School at 723-9285.  We look forward to welcoming you and your child to the MAPS family!

MAPS Elementary ATP

 

Chocolate Fundraiser Update

Due to the extension of Stay Home ruling, the distribution of the Chocolate has been postponed until May 1st. While we cannot legally distribute the orders at this time, we continue to work behind the scenes with World’s Famous to ensure that all the products are in our hands and ready to deliver to students’ families the very moment the order is lifted. We appreciate your understanding and continued support of MAPS ATP.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to email us at mapsatp1@gmail.com.

 
 

Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Madison, Jefferson, and Kennedy

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact Julia Raddatz raddatzj@manistee.org, or Kevin Schmutzler kschmutzler@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.

 
ATP Fundraiser Update 5-11-20

🍫 Chocolate updates—-We have some sweeeeet news to share! We will be reaching out to families this week to make delivery arrangements! While we are taking every precaution on our side to minimize any risks with delivery, we encourage our MAPS families to do the same when distributing! Any questions related to this fundraiser can be directed to mapsatp1@gmail.com. Thank you for your continued patience during this time, and your overall support of MAPS ATP!

What are the objectives of the ATP?

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration
What does ATP do?

We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

ATP Fundraiser

2018 Fundraiser - Wesco Popcorn Buckets! - MAPS Elementary ATP is pleased to announce that we are again selling the Wesco Popcorn Buckets this year.  We are so excited to partner with our local Wesco Stations to make this possible.

Buckets will sell for $12 each and can be refilled for FREE at all Wesco stations around the state from now until December 31, 2019!  This is a great holiday gift idea!  See the announcements section on this page for details about our 2018 fundraiser, and check back for future fundraising information.

ATP Points Tracker

Starting January 2019, ATP is starting a point tracker for volunteers!

How do I earn points?

  • Every ATP event (popcorn day, slushy day, winter carnival, etc.) every 2 hours you volunteer, you earn 1 point.
  • For showing up to our ATP meeting that’s once a month, you earn 1 point.
  • For suggesting a friend to volunteer & they show up for at least 2 hours, you earn 1 point.

 

All the points you earn will be entered for a drawing. At the end of the year, we will choose two winners. We hope to have a ton of volunteers!

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at Jefferson Elementary

Jefferson Elementary School starts our littlest “Chips” on their educational journey with Kindergarten, 1st grade, and 2nd grade.  Students in 3rd-5th grade attend Kennedy Elementary, and 6th-12th attend Manistee Middle/High School.
We look forward to working with you and your child to provide the best education possible. By working together, your child will have a happy and successful school year. If you have any questions please contact the me at (231) 723-9285 ext. 3372, or by e-mail at raddatzj@manistee.org.

We offer the following programs throughout the year:

  • Safe & supportive digital learning access
  • One-to-one technology – iPads
  • Daily art activities
  • Community recreation opportunities
  • Family night activities
  • Peer mentoring
  • Grade level focused field trips
  • Girl & Boy Scouts
  • Flexible before and after school care

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips always tell the truth

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips listen and are polite

A | ACCEPTING — Chips are friends to all

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work as a team

K | KIND — Chips are thoughtful and caring


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.

Academic Excellence
  • Safe & supportive digital learning access
  • One-to-one technology
  • Daily art activities
  • Peer mentoring
  • Grade level focused field trips
Extracurricular Activities
  • MRA athletics
  • Community recreation opportunities
  • Family night activities
  • Girl & Boy Scouts
  • Flexible before and after school care
Parent Involvement

Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Madison, Jefferson, and Kennedy.

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration

What does the ATP do?: We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact or Kenn Kott kkott@manistee.org, or Kevin Schmutzler kschmutzler@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.