Jefferson Elementary School

Grades: K-2 | Manistee Area Public Schools

JEFFERSON QUICK LINKS  |  Handbook : Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Jefferson!

Nurturing young learners with guiding principles, we are dedicated to making the classroom experience fun and rewarding. Our practical tools and techniques help your students begin their learning experience on the right foot. Great beginnings create future leaders.

Chips Lead!


Jefferson Students in the Community & Classroom

Jefferson Announcements

Your Jefferson Team


Location: 515 Bryant Avenue Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: 231-723-9285
Fax: 231-398-2021
School Office Hours: M-F: 7:30am – 4pm


Administrative Team

Principal: Julia Raddatz – raddatzj@manistee.org    

Assistant Principal: Kenn Kott – kkott@manistee.org

Secretary: Connie Miller – camiller@manistee.org

View Jefferson Staff
Administrative Staff

Julia Raddatz, Principal   raddatzj@manistee.org

Kenneth Kott, Assistant Principal  kkott@manistee.org

Connie Miller, Administrative Assistant   camiller@ manistee.org

Instructional Staff

Sherry Anderson, Long-term Sub Kindergarten  sanderson@manistee.org

Jennifer Abel, First Grade   jabel@manistee.org

Elizabeth Adams, Kindergarten    eadams@manistee.org

McAnn Bradford, Second Grade  mbradford@manistee.org

Daniel Brown, Second Grade  dbrown@manistee.org

Linda Coyle, Special Education  lcoyle@manistee.org

Andrea Dejong, Second Grade   adejong@manistee.org 

Bill Edmondson, Physical Education  wedmondson@manistee.org

Deb Erdman, First Grade  derdman@manistee.org 

Amanda Feyen, Music afeyen@manistee.org 

Debbie Forward, First Grade dforward@manistee.org 

Staci Johnson, First Grade sjohnson@manistee.org Ruth Simoneau, Literacy Coach  rsimoneau@manistee.org 

Cindy Lundberg, Kindergarten  clundberg@manistee.org

Tracy Shimel, SafeNet  tshimel@manistee.org

Ruth Simoneau, Title I, Literacy Coach   rsimoneau@manistee.org

Christine Slawinski, Kindergarten cslawinski@manistee.org

Bryan Tomaszewski, Second Grade  btomaszewski@manistee.org

Allison Veine, Kindergarten aveine@manistee.org

Mary Wahr, Art mwahr@manistee.org  

Michelle Wilson, First Grade mwilson@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Mary Chick                         mchick@manistee.org

Sheila Kaminski                 skaminski@manistee.org                  

Rachel Lindeman            rlindeman@manistee.org

Randee Oleniczak             roleniczak@manistee.org                  

Connie Rybicki                  crybicki@manistee.org

Laura Savela                    lsavela@manistee.org 

Sara Schultz                     sschultz@manistee.org

Jan Wills                           jwills@manistee.org

Anna Wojcik                     awojcik@manistee.org

Julie Zajac                          jzajac@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Ken Guenthardt                kguenthardt@manistee.org

Tom Madsen                    tmadsen@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Laura Olk                         lolk@manistee.org      

8:05 – School Begins
Lunch Times:
11:20 – 11:55 : 1st
11:30 – 12:05 : 2nd
11:45 – 12:20 : 3rd
3:15 – School Ends
11:00 – School Ends Half Days

MAPS Elementary ATP

 

Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Madison, Jefferson, and Kennedy

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact or Kenn Kott kkott@manistee.org, or Kevin Schmutzler kschmutzler@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.

 
What are the objectives of the ATP?

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration
What does ATP do?

We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

ATP Fundraiser

2018 Fundraiser - Wesco Popcorn Buckets! - MAPS Elementary ATP is pleased to announce that we are again selling the Wesco Popcorn Buckets this year.  We are so excited to partner with our local Wesco Stations to make this possible.

Buckets will sell for $12 each and can be refilled for FREE at all Wesco stations around the state from now until December 31, 2019!  This is a great holiday gift idea!  See the announcements section on this page for details about our 2018 fundraiser, and check back for future fundraising information.

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at Jefferson Elementary

Jefferson Elementary School starts our littlest “Chips” on their educational journey with Kindergarten, 1st grade, and 2nd grade.  Students in 3rd-5th grade attend Kennedy Elementary, and 6th-12th attend Manistee Middle/High School.
We look forward to working with you and your child to provide the best education possible. By working together, your child will have a happy and successful school year. If you have any questions please contact the me at (231) 723-9285 ext. 3372, or by e-mail at raddatzj@manistee.org.

We offer the following programs throughout the year:

  • Safe & supportive digital learning access
  • One-to-one technology – iPads
  • Daily art activities
  • Community recreation opportunities
  • Family night activities
  • Peer mentoring
  • Grade level focused field trips
  • Girl & Boy Scouts
  • Flexible before and after school care

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips always tell the truth

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips listen and are polite

A | ACCEPTING — Chips are friends to all

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work as a team

K | KIND — Chips are thoughtful and caring


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.

Academic Excellence
  • Safe & supportive digital learning access
  • One-to-one technology
  • Daily art activities
  • Peer mentoring
  • Grade level focused field trips
Extracurricular Activities
  • MRA athletics
  • Community recreation opportunities
  • Family night activities
  • Girl & Boy Scouts
  • Flexible before and after school care
Parent Involvement

Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Madison, Jefferson, and Kennedy.

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration

What does the ATP do?: We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact or Kenn Kott kkott@manistee.org, or Kevin Schmutzler kschmutzler@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.