Jefferson Elementary School

Grades: K-2 | Manistee Area Public Schools

JEFFERSON QUICK LINKS  |  Handbook : Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Jefferson!

All District buildings remain closed based upon statewide directive for school closure. Building entry remains restricted to those designated as essential workers.  

Some outdoor activities, coaching, athletic practices, and aquatic center use can resume on a limited basis following strict guidelines. More information about these activities can be found on our Athletics page and the Paine Aquatic Center page of this website.  

All other closure directives will be in place until the state order for school districts has been adapted.

We continue to stay informed about parameters for fall planning and will continue to update you as more details become available, please watch your email and this website for updates.

In an effort to help our student and families, we have created a resources page that will be regularly updated with information and links to assist in many ways. Click the Family Resource button below.

Nurturing young learners with guiding principles, we are dedicated to making the classroom experience fun and rewarding. Our practical tools and techniques help your students begin their learning experience on the right foot. Great beginnings create future leaders.

Chips Lead!

 

Time to Register for Pre-School & Kindergarten!

The time has come to start planning for your Little Chips entry into Pre-School or Kindergarten! You can register to receive your information packet and a special surprise for your little one!  Just follow the link below.

 

Summer Care Program

Summer Care will be offered for students age 5-12 years old at Madison Community Learning Center.  Care is available Monday through Friday 7:45 am to 3:30 pm.  The cost is $25 a day or $120 a week and will begin on June 15.  Please register before Friday, June 12.  Registration is required before a child will be able to attend the first day.  For more information and to register call 231-398-3758, or email sludwig@manistee.org.

 

Kennedy Welcomes Third Graders!

 

Madison Morning Care

Welcome! At Manistee Area Public Schools we want the very best for all of our students. We have developed a continuum of education from Pre-School to 12th Grade that support each student on their Chippewa Journey.

Each morning, the MAPS educational community engages in the critical work of professional development at each school. This means schools start approximately 30-35 later than a typical school day.

To address any Madison Morning child care needs, MAPS will be piloting Monday morning child care at Madison for student KG-5th.

Please let us know if you are interested in receiving more information about Madison Morning Care by completing this registration form:

 

IPad & Laptop Returns

All district issued iPads and laptops will need to be returned between June 8 and June 12 to Manistee Middle High School at 525 12th Street between the hours of 9:00 am to 11:00 am & 3:00 pm to 6:00 pm each day that week.  Please pull up outside of the east entrance to the Paine Aquatic Center and stay in your vehicle.  A staff member will approach your vehicle to retrieve your device(s) and record your name.

If you are unable to drop off the device during the specified time, please call and leave a message at 231-398-3669. MAPS staff will respond and find a solution for getting the device.  If we do not hear from you and the device is not returned by June 12, the student will be assessed a fee of $5/day; after three weeks, missing equipment may be referred to the police as stolen.

Summer Food Service Program

Michigan Department of Education Office of School Support Services

Manistee Area Public Schools announce the sponsorship of the Summer Food Service Program for children. Free meals will be made available to children 18 years of age and under or persons up to age 26 who are enrolled in an educational program for the mentally or physically disabled that is recognized by a State or local public educational agency. The meals will be provided without regard to race, color, national origin, age, sex, or disability, and there will be no discrimination in the course of the meal service. Meals will be provided at the site(s) listed below:

Manistee High School
525 Twelfth St.
Manistee, MI  49660

Breakfast & Lunch Monday-Thursday (On Thursday we will have available Breakfast & Lunch for Friday, Saturday & Sunday too!)

July 1 through Aug. 16 (11:00am-12:00pm)

Please pull through the Student Drop off area, stay in your vehicle and we will bring the number of meals needed to you! Grab & Go style!!

************************************************************************

Non-discrimination Statement: In accordance with Federal civil rights law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights regulations and policies, the USDA, its Agencies, offices, and employees, and institutions participating in or administering USDA programs are prohibited from discriminating based on race, color, national origin, sex, disability, age, or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity in any program or activity conducted or funded by USDA.

Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication for program information (e.g. Braille, large print, audiotape, American Sign Language, etc.), should contact the Agency (State or local) where they applied for benefits. Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing, or have speech disabilities may contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339. Additionally, program information may be made available in languages other than English.

To file a program complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form, (AD-3027) found online at: http://www.ascr.usda.gov/complaint_filing_cust.html, and at any USDA office, or write a letter addressed to USDA and provide in the letter all of the information requested in the form. To request a copy of the complaint form, call (866) 632-9992. Submit your completed form or letter to USDA by: mail: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, D.C. 20250-9410; fax: (202) 690-7442; or email: program.intake@usda.gov.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.  ********************************************

 

Mary Wahr's Virtual Art Exhibit

Jefferson Elementary teacher, Mary Wahr’s exhibit was supposed to launch at The Ramsdell Regional Center for the Arts on April 3, 2020, however due to COVID-19, live exhibits are temporarily unavailable. The Ramsdell has made Ms. Wahr's exhibit available through a virtual gallery experience that can be viewed online. Their plan is to open her live exhibit at the Ramsdell in the fall of 2020. 

Goodbye Mrs. Kaminski!

Jefferson Elementary students and staff wish Mrs. Kaminski a happy retirement!


Jefferson Students in the Community & Classroom

Jefferson Announcements

Ready for Kindergarten?

Each year in the spring Manistee Area Public Schools hosts a Pre-School & Kindergarten Round Up welcoming new families to the school district.  Due to the required school closure and Stay Home, Stay Safe Order, Round Up will be managed a bit differently this...

read more

Your Jefferson Team


Location: 515 Bryant Avenue Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: 231-723-9285
Fax: 231-398-2021
School Office Hours: M-F: 7:30am – 4pm


Administrative Team

Principal: Julia Raddatz – raddatzj@manistee.org    

Secretary: Connie Miller – camiller@manistee.org

View Jefferson Staff
Administrative Staff

Julia Raddatz, Principal   raddatzj@manistee.org

Connie Miller, Administrative Assistant   camiller@manistee.org

Instructional Staff

 

Elizabeth Adams, Kindergarten    eadams@manistee.org

Krista Bennett, Math Coach   kbennett@manistee.org

McAnn Bradford, Second Grade  mbradford@manistee.org

Daniel Brown, Second Grade  dbrown@manistee.org

Linda Coyle, Special Education  lcoyle@manistee.org

Andrea Dejong, Second Grade   adejong@manistee.org

Deb Erdman, First Grade  derdman@manistee.org

Amanda Feyen, Music afeyen@manistee.org

Debbie Forward, First Grade dforward@manistee.org 

Staci Johnson, First Grade sjohnson@manistee.org

Cindy Lundberg, Kindergarten  clundberg@manistee.org

Tracy Shimel, SafeNet  tshimel@manistee.org

Ruth Simoneau, Title I, Literacy Coach   rsimoneau@manistee.org

Christine Slawinski, Kindergarten cslawinski@manistee.org

Bryan Tomaszewski, Second Grade  btomaszewski@manistee.org

Allison Veine, Kindergarten aveine@manistee.org

Mary Wahr, Art mwahr@manistee.org  

Michelle Wilson, First Grade mwilson@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Mary Chick                         mchick@manistee.org    

Rachel Lindeman            rlindeman@manistee.org

Amy Miller                        amiller@manistee.org

Randee Oleniczak             roleniczak@manistee.org                  

Connie Rybicki                  crybicki@manistee.org

Laura Savela                    lsavela@manistee.org 

Kristie Schlafley                    kschlafley@manistee.org 

Clayton Slawinski          cbslawinski@manistee.org

Jan Wills                           jwills@manistee.org

Anna Wojcik                     awojcik@manistee.org

Julie Zajac                          jzajac@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Robert Jacobs                   rjacobs@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Laura Olk                         lolk@manistee.org      

8:00 – School Begins
 
Lunch Times:
11:20 – 11:55 : 1st
11:30 – 12:05 : 2nd
11:45 – 12:20 : 3rd
 
3:15 – School Ends
11:00 – School Ends Half Days

At Manistee Area Public Schools we want the very best for all of our students. We have developed a continuum of education from Pre-School to 12th Grade that support each student on their Chippewa Journey. Our devoted teachers, administrators and support staff take a very personal approach to educating students at every level. We encourage parents and community members to join us as we guide our students toward their peak potential.

Madison Early Childhood/Elementary:  Pre-school (ages 3-5)

Jefferson Elementary:  Kindergarten- 2nd grade

 

Important Information for Parents!

By law students must be (five) 5 years old on or before Sept 1, 2020 to register.  

Mandatory Information Needed to Enroll

  • Official birth certificate
  • Immunization records
  • Last 4 digits of the student’s social security number

 

Other Suggested Documentation if Applicable:

  • Proof of current Hearing/Vision Screening (screenings will be offered at no charge during clinic if needed)
  • Individualized Education Plan (IEP) - if applicable
  • Parental Rights/Custody Documentation - if applicable

 

If you have any questions please contact Connie at Jefferson Elementary School at 723-9285.  We look forward to welcoming you and your child to the MAPS family!

MAPS Elementary ATP

 

Chocolate Fundraiser Update

Due to the extension of Stay Home ruling, the distribution of the Chocolate has been postponed until May 1st. While we cannot legally distribute the orders at this time, we continue to work behind the scenes with World’s Famous to ensure that all the products are in our hands and ready to deliver to students’ families the very moment the order is lifted. We appreciate your understanding and continued support of MAPS ATP.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to email us at mapsatp1@gmail.com.

 
 

Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Madison, Jefferson, and Kennedy

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact Julia Raddatz raddatzj@manistee.org, or Kevin Schmutzler kschmutzler@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.

 
ATP Fundraiser Update 5-11-20

🍫 Chocolate updates—-We have some sweeeeet news to share! We will be reaching out to families this week to make delivery arrangements! While we are taking every precaution on our side to minimize any risks with delivery, we encourage our MAPS families to do the same when distributing! Any questions related to this fundraiser can be directed to mapsatp1@gmail.com. Thank you for your continued patience during this time, and your overall support of MAPS ATP!

What are the objectives of the ATP?

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration
What does ATP do?

We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

ATP Fundraiser

2018 Fundraiser - Wesco Popcorn Buckets! - MAPS Elementary ATP is pleased to announce that we are again selling the Wesco Popcorn Buckets this year.  We are so excited to partner with our local Wesco Stations to make this possible.

Buckets will sell for $12 each and can be refilled for FREE at all Wesco stations around the state from now until December 31, 2019!  This is a great holiday gift idea!  See the announcements section on this page for details about our 2018 fundraiser, and check back for future fundraising information.

ATP Points Tracker

Starting January 2019, ATP is starting a point tracker for volunteers!

How do I earn points?

  • Every ATP event (popcorn day, slushy day, winter carnival, etc.) every 2 hours you volunteer, you earn 1 point.
  • For showing up to our ATP meeting that’s once a month, you earn 1 point.
  • For suggesting a friend to volunteer & they show up for at least 2 hours, you earn 1 point.

 

All the points you earn will be entered for a drawing. At the end of the year, we will choose two winners. We hope to have a ton of volunteers!

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at Jefferson Elementary

Jefferson Elementary School starts our littlest “Chips” on their educational journey with Kindergarten, 1st grade, and 2nd grade.  Students in 3rd-5th grade attend Kennedy Elementary, and 6th-12th attend Manistee Middle/High School.
We look forward to working with you and your child to provide the best education possible. By working together, your child will have a happy and successful school year. If you have any questions please contact the me at (231) 723-9285 ext. 3372, or by e-mail at raddatzj@manistee.org.

We offer the following programs throughout the year:

  • Safe & supportive digital learning access
  • One-to-one technology – iPads
  • Daily art activities
  • Community recreation opportunities
  • Family night activities
  • Peer mentoring
  • Grade level focused field trips
  • Girl & Boy Scouts
  • Flexible before and after school care

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips always tell the truth

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips listen and are polite

A | ACCEPTING — Chips are friends to all

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work as a team

K | KIND — Chips are thoughtful and caring


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.

Academic Excellence
  • Safe & supportive digital learning access
  • One-to-one technology
  • Daily art activities
  • Peer mentoring
  • Grade level focused field trips
Extracurricular Activities
  • MRA athletics
  • Community recreation opportunities
  • Family night activities
  • Girl & Boy Scouts
  • Flexible before and after school care
Parent Involvement

Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Madison, Jefferson, and Kennedy.

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration

What does the ATP do?: We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact or Kenn Kott kkott@manistee.org, or Kevin Schmutzler kschmutzler@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.