Jefferson Elementary School

Grades: K-2 | Manistee Area Public Schools

JEFFERSON QUICK LINKS  |  Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Jefferson!

Nurturing young learners with guiding principles, we are dedicated to making the classroom experience fun and rewarding. Our practical tools and techniques help your students begin their learning experience on the right foot. Great beginnings create future leaders.

Chips Lead!

COVID-19 NOTIFICATION

In an effort to keep our MAPS community informed, below we are providing notification regarding any COVID-19 concerns related to our District.

 

 

Time to Register for Pre-School & Kindergarten!

The time has come to start planning for your Little Chips entry into Pre-School or Kindergarten! You can register to receive your information packet and a special surprise for your little one!  Just follow the link below.

 

Food Service Program

With support from the United States Department of Agriculture and Michigan Department of Education, Manistee Area Public Schools is grateful to be able to extend free meals for all children 18 and younger, and students with disabilities up to 26 years of age, in our Manistee community through the summer of 2021.  Once funding is no longer available, our Food Service Department will return to the National School Lunch Program parameters for public school food service.

MAPS will be serving all in-person learners free breakfast and lunch every school day at each building in the district.  We will also be offering free Grab & Go meals Mondays and Thursdays at Manistee Middle High School at MMHS at 525 Twelfth Street from 9 am to 10 am.  This food service program is available to all MAPS online learners in addition to any Manistee community families with children 18 & younger and students with disabilities up to 26 years of age.

Grab & Go Food Service program details:

  • Grab & Go meal service will offer breakfast and lunch meals distributed Mondays and Thursdays from 9 am to 10 am each week.
  • Curbside pick-up will be available at the MMHS main entrance drive at the student drop off area.
  • Meals provided on Monday will be breakfast & lunch for 3 days.
  • Meals provided on Thursday will be breakfast & lunch for 4 days to provide meals through the weekends.
  • Families of in-person learners are also able to pick up 2 breakfast and 2 lunch meals for their students on Thursdays to provide food through the weekend, following the same pick up instructions above.
  • If a holiday, snow day or school day scheduled to be off occurs on a Monday, the meal pick up will be Tuesday.
  • If a holiday or school day scheduled to be off occurs on a Thursday, the meal pick up will be Wednesday.  (Example Thanksgiving)
  • If a snow day, or other closure, occurs on Thursday meal pick up will be Friday.

Summer School Students
We will be serving meals to all students attending summer school within the building.  Only summer school students can be served indoors at this time.  The district will reevaluate early July, whether we can open to the public for daily service inside.

Students attending summer school can also request meals to be taken home for the weekends. Please make your request with one of our Nutrition Services team members or send an email to kcarlson@manistee.org to place an order for a Thursday meal pick-up after class.

We are grateful for the ability to continue providing this important service for the children of our community through the funding support of Federal and State agencies.

Jefferson Announcements

Some winter reminders from Jefferson:

WINTER: Now that winter is “boots on” each day, a pair of shoes or slippers that stay at school is appreciated. CALENDAR: Monday, Feb 8th NO SCHOOL (staff professional development day) VALENTINES: The Jefferson/Kennedy ATP group will be sponsoring classroom treats for...

read more

Jefferson Snow Clothes

Hello Jefferson Parents, SNOW has finally arrived! Despite cold weather, we are eager to have children play outdoors each day to be safe while getting fresh air. Please make every effort to pack snow clothes everyday; due to COVID restrictions, we are not able to loan...

read more

January 2021 at Jefferson

Welcome 2021! Here are some upcoming events at Jefferson. FRIDAY, JAN 15th: K-2 NWEA testing for virtual students and K-12 school pictures from 12:30pm-2:30pm. MONDAY, JAN 18th: NO SCHOOL for students (Professional Development Day) Also, individual virtual student...

read more

Your Jefferson Team


Location: 515 Bryant Avenue Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: 231-723-9285
Fax: 231-398-2021
School Office Hours: M-Th: 7:30am – 4pm, Friday 7:30am – 3pm


Administrative Team

Principal: Julia Raddatz – raddatzj@manistee.org    

Administrative Assistant: Connie Miller – camiller@manistee.org

View Jefferson Staff
Administrative Staff

Julia Raddatz, Principal   raddatzj@manistee.org

Connie Miller, Administrative Assistant   camiller@manistee.org

Instructional Staff

 

Elizabeth Adams, Kindergarten    eadams@manistee.org

Krista Bennett, Math Coach   kbennett@manistee.org

McAnn Bradford, Second Grade  mbradford@manistee.org

Linda Coyle, Special Education  lcoyle@manistee.org

Andrea Dejong, Second Grade   adejong@manistee.org

Isabella Doolittle, Second Grade   idoolittle@manistee.org

Deb Erdman, First Grade  derdman@manistee.org

Amanda Feyen, Music afeyen@manistee.org

Debbie Forward, First Grade dforward@manistee.org 

Chasity Gouker, Title I Reading/Literacy Coach cgouker@manistee.org

Staci Johnson, First Grade sjohnson@manistee.org

Cindy Lundberg, Kindergarten  clundberg@manistee.org

Tracy Shimel, SafeNet  tshimel@manistee.org

Christine Slawinski, Kindergarten cslawinski@manistee.org

Bryan Tomaszewski, Second Grade  btomaszewski@manistee.org

Allison Veine, Kindergarten aveine@manistee.org

Michelle Wilson, First Grade mwilson@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Mary Chick  mchick@manistee.org

Andi Jones  ajones@manistee.org

Rachel Lindeman  rlindeman@manistee.org

Amy Miller amiller@manistee.org               

Kristie Schlafley  kschlafley@manistee.org

Clayton Slawinski  cbslawinski@manistee.org

Anna Wojcik  awojcik@manistee.org

Julie Zajac  jzajac@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Thomas Madsen  tmadsen@manistee.org

Robert Jacobs  rjacobs@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Laura Olk  lolk@manistee.org

Jennifer Rogers jrogers@manistee.org

8:00 – School Begins
 
Lunch Times:
11:20 – 11:55 : 1st
11:30 – 12:05 : 2nd
11:45 – 12:20 : 3rd
 
3:15 – School Ends
11:00 – School Ends Half Days

At Manistee Area Public Schools we want the very best for all of our students. We have developed a continuum of education from Pre-School to 12th Grade that support each student on their Chippewa Journey. Our devoted teachers, administrators and support staff take a very personal approach to educating students at every level. We encourage parents and community members to join us as we guide our students toward their peak potential.

Madison Early Childhood/Elementary:  Pre-school (ages 3-5)

Jefferson Elementary:  Kindergarten- 2nd grade

 

MAPS Elementary ATP

 

Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Madison, Jefferson, and Kennedy

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact Julia Raddatz raddatzj@manistee.org, or Joanie Wiersma jwiersma@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.

 
What are the objectives of the ATP?

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration
What does ATP do?

We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

ATP Points Tracker

Starting January 2019, ATP is starting a point tracker for volunteers!

How do I earn points?

  • Every ATP event (popcorn day, slushy day, winter carnival, etc.) every 2 hours you volunteer, you earn 1 point.
  • For showing up to our ATP meeting that’s once a month, you earn 1 point.
  • For suggesting a friend to volunteer & they show up for at least 2 hours, you earn 1 point.

 

All the points you earn will be entered for a drawing. At the end of the year, we will choose two winners. We hope to have a ton of volunteers!

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at Jefferson Elementary

Jefferson Elementary School starts our littlest “Chips” on their educational journey with Kindergarten, 1st grade, and 2nd grade.  Students in 3rd-5th grade attend Kennedy Elementary, and 6th-12th attend Manistee Middle/High School.
We look forward to working with you and your child to provide the best education possible. By working together, your child will have a happy and successful school year. If you have any questions please contact the me at (231) 723-9285 ext. 3372, or by e-mail at raddatzj@manistee.org.

We offer the following programs throughout the year:

  • Safe & supportive digital learning access
  • One-to-one technology – iPads
  • Daily art activities
  • Community recreation opportunities
  • Family night activities
  • Peer mentoring
  • Grade level focused field trips
  • Girl & Boy Scouts
  • Flexible before and after school care

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips always tell the truth

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips listen and are polite

A | ACCEPTING — Chips are friends to all

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work as a team

K | KIND — Chips are thoughtful and caring


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.