Jefferson Elementary School

Grades: K-2 | Manistee Area Public Schools

JEFFERSON QUICK LINKS  |  Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Jefferson!

Nurturing young learners with guiding principles, we are dedicated to making the classroom experience fun and rewarding. Our practical tools and techniques help your students begin their learning experience on the right foot. Great beginnings create future leaders.

Chips Lead!

COVID-19 NOTIFICATION

In an effort to keep our MAPS community informed, below we are providing notification regarding any COVID-19 concerns related to our District.

 

 

Time to Register for Pre-School & Kindergarten!

The time has come to start planning for your Little Chips entry into Pre-School or Kindergarten! You can register to receive your information packet and a special surprise for your little one!  Just follow the link below.

 

Food Service Program

2021/22 School Year

MAPS will following the USDA National School Lunch Seamless Summer Option, which allows us to offer all students free breakfast and lunch for the entire school year..

Our Grab & Go program has been changed under the USDA Seamless Summer Option, as of the first day of school (Aug. 31st) This means:

  • All students attending school, within our buildings, who are offered meals at school CANNOT have families pick up meals through the Grab & Go line. Those students will all be fed at school.  Any student following required quarantine protocols can use the Grab & Go service.
  • If students are virtual learners, home schoolers, or any other children within the Manistee community not attending school they are still eligible to participate in the Grab & Go program.
  • We will offer pick up of a 5-day breakfast & lunch pack on Mondays between 9am-10am at MMHS in the drop-off lane.
  • Grab & Go meals are no longer able to be offered for weekends or holidays. They can only be provided for those days that school is in session.
  • Accountability is required, student names will be recorded when families are picking up Grab & Go meals to verify those students are not in attendance at our buildings.
  • If a holiday, snow day or school day scheduled to be off occurs on a Monday, the meal pick up will be Tuesday.

We ask that all families complete the free/reduced applications for this school year even though we are feeding all children for free, link below.  This will allow for student meal accounting for the program. This information will be used by the Michigan Department of Health & Human Services for future PEBT distributions and to account for student benefits for the 22/23 school year.  Student benefits will follow them for the first 30 days of the next school year (22/23), to allow families time to complete another free/reduced application without loss of benefits.

Student Nutrition Program Application

 

Jefferson Announcements

UPDATE: Remote Learning Mon Nov 23rd- Weds Nov 25th

*UPDATE: Remote Learning Mon Nov 23rd- Weds Nov 25th **(K-8 plan to return to in-person Mon, Nov 30th)* Due to COVID precautions, all K-12 students will be learning from home starting Monday Nov 23, 2020. Madison's GSRP and preschool programs will be open. Each grade...

read more

November ATP Newsletter

Linked below  is your November ATP Newsletter. It's filled with a lot of details about several events taking place right now. Be sure to skim thru and mark deadlines on your calendar. ATP November 2020

read more

Your Jefferson Team


Location: 515 Bryant Avenue Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: 231-723-9285
Fax: 231-398-2021
School Office Hours: M-Th: 7:30am – 4pm, Friday 7:30am – 3pm


Administrative Team

Principal: Julia Raddatz – raddatzj@manistee.org    

Administrative Assistant: Connie Miller – camiller@manistee.org

View Jefferson Staff
Administrative Staff

Julia Raddatz, Principal   raddatzj@manistee.org

Connie Miller, Administrative Assistant   camiller@manistee.org

Instructional Staff

 

Elizabeth Adams, Kindergarten    eadams@manistee.org

Wendy Adamski, Elementary PE/Health    wadamski@manistee.org

Krista Bennett, Math Coach   kbennett@manistee.org

McAnn Bradford, Second Grade  mbradford@manistee.org

Linda Coyle, Special Education  lcoyle@manistee.org

Andrea Dejong, Second Grade   adejong@manistee.org

Isabella Doolittle, Second Grade   idoolittle@manistee.org

Deb Erdman, First Grade  derdman@manistee.org

Amanda Feyen, Elementary Music afeyen@manistee.org

Debbie Forward, First Grade dforward@manistee.org 

Chasity Gouker, Title I Reading/Literacy Coach cgouker@manistee.org

Staci Johnson, First Grade sjohnson@manistee.org

Cindy Lundberg, Kindergarten  clundberg@manistee.org

Tracy Shimel, SafeNet  tshimel@manistee.org

Christine Slawinski, Kindergarten cslawinski@manistee.org

Linda Slotegraaf, Elementary Art lslotegraaf@manistee.org

Bryan Tomaszewski, Second Grade  btomaszewski@manistee.org

Allison Veine, Kindergarten aveine@manistee.org

Michelle Wilson, First Grade mwilson@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Mary Chick  mchick@manistee.org

Kelly Dawson  kdawson@manistee.org

Andi Jones  ajones@manistee.org

Rachel Lindeman  rlindeman@manistee.org

Amy Miller amiller@manistee.org               

Kristie Schlafley  kschlafley@manistee.org

Clayton Slawinski  cbslawinski@manistee.org

Anna Wojcik  awojcik@manistee.org

Julie Zajac  jzajac@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Thomas Madsen  tmadsen@manistee.org

Robert Jacobs  rjacobs@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Melissa Gutowski  mgutowski@manistee.org

 

8:00 – School Begins
 
Lunch Times:
11:20 – 11:55 : 1st
11:30 – 12:05 : 2nd
11:45 – 12:20 : 3rd
 
3:15 – School Ends
11:00 – School Ends Half Days

At Manistee Area Public Schools we want the very best for all of our students. We have developed a continuum of education from Pre-School to 12th Grade that support each student on their Chippewa Journey. Our devoted teachers, administrators and support staff take a very personal approach to educating students at every level. We encourage parents and community members to join us as we guide our students toward their peak potential.

Madison Early Childhood/Elementary:  Pre-school (ages 3-5)

Jefferson Elementary:  Kindergarten- 2nd grade

 

MAPS Elementary ATP

 

Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Madison, Jefferson, and Kennedy

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact Julia Raddatz raddatzj@manistee.org, or Joanie Wiersma jwiersma@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.

 
What are the objectives of the ATP?

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration
What does ATP do?

We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

ATP Points Tracker

Starting January 2019, ATP is starting a point tracker for volunteers!

How do I earn points?

  • Every ATP event (popcorn day, slushy day, winter carnival, etc.) every 2 hours you volunteer, you earn 1 point.
  • For showing up to our ATP meeting that’s once a month, you earn 1 point.
  • For suggesting a friend to volunteer & they show up for at least 2 hours, you earn 1 point.

 

All the points you earn will be entered for a drawing. At the end of the year, we will choose two winners. We hope to have a ton of volunteers!

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at Jefferson Elementary

Jefferson Elementary School starts our littlest “Chips” on their educational journey with Kindergarten, 1st grade, and 2nd grade.  Students in 3rd-5th grade attend Kennedy Elementary, and 6th-12th attend Manistee Middle/High School.
We look forward to working with you and your child to provide the best education possible. By working together, your child will have a happy and successful school year. If you have any questions please contact the me at (231) 723-9285 ext. 3372, or by e-mail at raddatzj@manistee.org.

We offer the following programs throughout the year:

  • Safe & supportive digital learning access
  • One-to-one technology – iPads
  • Daily art activities
  • Community recreation opportunities
  • Family night activities
  • Peer mentoring
  • Grade level focused field trips
  • Girl & Boy Scouts
  • Flexible before and after school care

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips always tell the truth

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips listen and are polite

A | ACCEPTING — Chips are friends to all

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work as a team

K | KIND — Chips are thoughtful and caring


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.