Kennedy Elementary School

Grades: 3-5 | Manistee Area Public Schools

KENNEDY QUICK LINKS  |  Handbook : Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources : Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Kennedy!

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

As leaders, we inspire each other to dream more, learn more, and do more.

Chips Lead!

Join the Conversation.


Please lend your voice to the MAPS 2020 visioning process by participating in our survey.

  • Takes Less Than 10 Minutes
  • Facilities & Education Focused
  • Planning for the Next 20 Years

Kennedy Announcements

Your Kennedy Team


Location: 550 Maple St, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: (231) 723-3271
School Office Hours: M-F: 7:30am – 4pm


Principal: Kevin Schmutzler  |  Vice Principal: Kenn Kott

View Kennedy Staff
Administrative Team

Principal: Kevin Schmutzler | kschmutzler@manistee.org

Assistant Principal: Kenn Kott | kkott@manistee.org

Administrative Assistant: Holly Dahlquist | hdahlquist@manistee.org 


Instructional Staff

Wendy Adamski 
Specials - PE/Health wadamski@manistee.org 

Leah Antal 
3rd Grade Teacher lantal@manistee.org 

Laura Brown 
4th Grade Teacher lbrown@manistee.org 

Don Demeuse 
5th Grade Teacher  ddemeuse@manisee.org 

Dana Dobis 
Resource Room ddobis@manistee.org

William Edmondson
Title 1 Teacher  wedmondson@manistee.org

Amanda Feyen
Elementary Music  afeyen@manistee.org

Sara Franklin
4th Grade Teacher sfranklin@manistee.org

Tanya Hunter
5th Grade Teacher thunter@manistee.org

Amanda Johns 
4th Grade Teacher ajohns@manistee.org 

Taylor Johnson 
5th Grade Teacher tjohnson@manistee.org 

Andrea Mack 
Specials - Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org 

Emily Noteware 
Resource Room enoteware@manistee.org  

Josh Smith 
3rd Grade Teacher jsmith@manistee.org 

Scott Solberg
SafeNet  ssolberg@manistee.org

Kayla Szokola 
3rd Grade Teacher kszokola@manistee.org

Jaclyn Trahan
5th Grade Teacher jtrahan@manistee.org

Mary Wahr
Specials - Art mwahr@manistee.org

Andrea Wegener 
Resource Room awegener@manistee.org 

Jane Wojciechowski
3rd Grade Teacher jlwojciechowski@manistee.org 

Kelly Zimmerman  
4th Grade Teacher kzimmerman@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Johanna Beverly  jbeverly@manistee.org

Ingrid Bond  ibond@manistee.org

Karla Lidtke kjhilliard@manistee.org

Tara Lange  tlange@manistee.org

Krissy Onstott konstott@manistee.org

Amy Rankin arankin@manistee.org

Beryl Salzman bsalzman@manistee.org

Austin Slawinski  aslawinski@manistee.org

Sandra Turk sturk@manistee.org

Michele Traviss  mtraviss@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Carol Hansen  chansen@manistee.org

Terri Morski  tmorski@manistee.org

Julie Polcyn  jpolcyn@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Clarence Schultz  cschultz@manistee.org

Don Froncek dfroncek@manistee.org

 

 

 

STAFF SPOTLIGHT

Don Demeuse

It is with full hearts that Kennedy Elementary says goodbye this year to our long time 5th grade teacher, Don Demeuse.  For every family that has been a part of Manistee Area Public Schools in the last 40+ years, it is likely that somewhere in their Kennedy Elementary memory is a fond one of Mr. Demeuse.  It is fitting then to close out this school year, and the start of the first ever Chippewa Staff Spotlight, to get to know a little more about Don, his career, his passions, and his hope for the future.

Don grew up right here in Stronach, Michigan.  At Manistee High School, he played football, track & baseball (1st year baseball was offered at MAPS.)  

Don attended Central Michigan University to become a teacher.   His passion lies in history, science, math, but mostly inspiring children and colleagues to become something special.  He knows first hand how an education can impact one’s life. He has coached football, track, basketball, softball, baseball, swimming plus has been involved in Science Olympiad and the Sleighbell Parade.  He also attends students games, band concerts, and eats lunch (if you call a bag of carrots or canned green beans lunch) with kids in the cafeteria every day.

He has 2 daughters, Nicole & Jessica.  Nicole is teaching science in Los Angeles and Jessica is a chemist and lawyer in Nebraska.  He has one granddaughter, Audrey.

Don’s long career in education bears witness to his joy and passion for children.  He has mentored numerous teachers over his years, and his relationships with students and staff has set an exemplar to those who know him.   He considers the past 40+ years in education a true honor and blessing.

When asked to share something that most people don’t know about him, Don replied, “I compete in triathlons in the summer.  I swim a half mile and bike 25 miles. My knee is too bad for the running part.”

When asked to share some final words of wisdom, Don replied, “Same thing I tell all the teachers, no matter how the day is going, have fun.  If you take it too serious, you are not a good teacher. Go in today and have fun.”

As for his future plans, Don plans to travel to see his own children and grandchildren.  Maybe you’ll even see him back at Kennedy, roaming the halls, and continuing to love the students and staff that he has blessed for over the 40+ years.  The memories he has made, have made him so rich!

MAPS Elementary ATP

Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Madison, Jefferson, and Kennedy

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact or Kenn Kott kkott@manistee.org, or Kevin Schmutzler kschmutzler@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.

What are the objectives of the ATP?

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration
What does ATP do?

We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

ATP Fundraiser

2018 Fundraiser - Wesco Popcorn Buckets! - MAPS Elementary ATP is pleased to announce that we are again selling the Wesco Popcorn Buckets this year.  We are so excited to partner with our local Wesco Stations to make this possible.

Buckets will sell for $12 each and can be refilled for FREE at all Wesco stations around the state from now until December 31, 2019!  This is a great holiday gift idea!  See the announcements section on this page for details about our 2018 fundraiser, and check back for future fundraising information.

ATP Points Tracker

Starting January 2019, ATP is starting a point tracker for volunteers!

How do I earn points?

  • Every ATP event (popcorn day, slushy day, winter carnival, etc.) every 2 hours you volunteer, you earn 1 point.
  • For showing up to our ATP meeting that’s once a month, you earn 1 point.
  • For suggesting a friend to volunteer & they show up for at least 2 hours, you earn 1 point.

 

All the points you earn will be entered for a drawing. At the end of the year, we will choose two winners. We hope to have a ton of volunteers!

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at Kennedy Elementary

The staff at Kennedy Elementary are looking forward to an exciting school year. Kennedy Elementary offers a challenging academic program along with many athletic opportunities and after school programs. We are proud of the programs our school offers and encourage you to work hard, do your best, and find success both academically and in your personal accomplishments.

We offer the following programs throughout the year:

  • PowerLearning 1:1 iPad instruction
  • Data Driven Instruction
  • Guaranteed & Viable Curriculum
  • Educational based field trips & assemblies
  • Paraprofessional Assistance
  • After-School Tutoring
  • Response to Intervention (RTI) & Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS)
  • Safenet
  • Child Study Meetings

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips tell the truth and are responsible

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips listen and value others

A | ACCEPTING — Chips are friendly to all

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work together as a team

K | KIND — Chips are helpful and caring


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.

Academic Excellence
  • Collaborative Classroom ELA Curriculum: Academic and Social-Emotional Learning
  • Needs Focused Enrichment Opportunities
  • Field Trip Travel Opportunities
  • Quiz Bowl
  • Science Olympiad
  • Team Teaching
  • Breakfast in the Classroom (free breakfast for all students)
  • Collaborative Classroom  (SEL)
  • At Recess: Buddy Bench & Conflict Corner practices
  • MMHS Mentors
Extracurricular Activities
  • Expanded MRA Athletics
  • Student Council
  • Band
  • Social Skills Group (Mondays & Wednesdays)
  • Young Men’s Breakfast Club (2nd & 4th Tuesday before school)
  • Ladies First Breakfast Club  (2nd Wednesday before school)
  • Blessings in a Backpack (Fridays)
  • Child Study and Student Staffings with TC, SSW, OT, PT, VI, etc. (varies)
  • Lego Robotics team  (Thursdays after school)
  • Student Council and student council fun events like Movie Night, Dodgeball, etc.
  • Career Day during March Reading Month
  • Swim & Growing Up lessons  (4 days in March)
  • Fieldtrips:
    • Mackinac (3rd Gr)  (June)
    • Sleeping Bear Dunes (4th Gr)  (February)
    • Tall Ship (5th Gr)  (May)
  • After School Opportunities: Boy & Girl Scouts, MRA, Cheerleading, Jr. Dance Team,  Annual Talent Show
Parent Involvement
Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Madison, Jefferson, and Kennedy.

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration

What does the ATP do?: We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

At Kennedy:

  • Movie Night
  • Popcorn Days
  • Slushy Days
  • Birthday Lunches
  • Book Fairs
  • Winter Carnival
  • Books for Bikes
  • …and more

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact or Kott kkott@manistee.org, or Kevin Schmutzler kschmutzler@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.

Seesaw

Seesaw is a service that we use K-6 at MAPS and is a simple way for teachers and students to record and share what’s happening in the classroom. Seesaw gives students a place to document their learning, be creative and learn how to use technology. Each student gets their own journal and will add things to it, like photos, videos, drawings, or notes. When there are new Seesaw posts, families can be notified via app notification, email or SMS. Parents are only notified about their own child’s work, and all data is safe and secure.

Contact your student’s classroom teacher to get more information about how you can get connected via Seesaw.

Staff Training & Student Support

Training and Practices:

  • Safenet
  • “Love & Logic” Jim Fey  (Ex: student choices, empathy, logical consequences, SRC, etc.)
  • “No Such Thing as a Bad Kid” with Charlie Appelstein
  • “Poverty’s Influence on Learning” Eric Jensen
  • “Stewards of Children” Child Abuse and Neglect Training (Child Advocacy Center)
  • “Take Time for You Self-care action plans for educators” Tina Boogren
  • Restorative Justice practices and Professional Development for Administrators
  • Teachers Involving Parents in Schoolwork practices
  • QPR (Question, Persuade, Refer) suicide prevention
  • CRASE training (Civilian Response to Active Shooter Events)
  • NightLocks installed throughout the building
  • Emergency Operation Plan (in revision/updating process)
  • Annual Staff: CPI/1st Aid, Nonviolent Crisis Prevention Intervention, Bloodborne Pathogen, AED, Concussion, EpiPen, Emergency Drill Schedule
  • Annual Students: Cybersafety including OK2Say app, Stop-Walk-Talk anti-bully program,