Kennedy Elementary School

Grades: 3-5 | Manistee Area Public Schools

KENNEDY QUICK LINKS  |  Handbook : Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources : Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Kennedy!

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

As leaders, we inspire each other to dream more, learn more, and do more.

Chips Lead!

Kennedy Announcements

Your Kennedy Team


Location: 550 Maple St, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: (231) 723-3271
School Office Hours: M-F: 7:30am – 4pm


Principal: Kevin Schmutzler  |  Vice Principal: Kenn Kott

View Kennedy Staff
Administrative Team

Principal: Kevin Schmutzler | kschmutzler@manistee.org

Assistant Principal: Kenn Kott | kkott@manistee.org

Administrative Assistant: Holly Dahlquist | hdahlquist@manistee.org 


Instructional Staff

Wendy Adamski 
Specials - PE/Health wadamski@manistee.org 

Leah Antal 
3rd Grade Teacher lantal@manistee.org 

Laura Brown 
4th Grade Teacher lbrown@manistee.org 

Don Demeuse 
5th Grade Teacher  ddemeuse@manisee.org 

Dana Dobis 
Resource Room ddobis@manistee.org

William Edmondson
Title 1 Teacher  wedmondson@manistee.org

Amanda Feyen
Elementary Music  afeyen@manistee.org

Sara Franklin
4th Grade Teacher sfranklin@manistee.org

Tanya Hunter
5th Grade Teacher thunter@manistee.org

Amanda Johns 
4th Grade Teacher ajohns@manistee.org 

Taylor Johnson 
5th Grade Teacher tjohnson@manistee.org 

Andrea Mack 
Specials - Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org 

Emily Noteware 
Resource Room enoteware@manistee.org  

Josh Smith 
3rd Grade Teacher jsmith@manistee.org 

Scott Solberg
SafeNet  ssolberg@manistee.org

Kayla Szokola 
3rd Grade Teacher kszokola@manistee.org

Jaclyn Trahan
5th Grade Teacher jtrahan@manistee.org

Mary Wahr
Specials - Art mwahr@manistee.org

Andrea Wegener 
Resource Room awegener@manistee.org 

Jane Wojciechowski
3rd Grade Teacher jlwojciechowski@manistee.org 

Kelly Zimmerman  
4th Grade Teacher kzimmerman@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Johanna Beverly  jbeverly@manistee.org

Ingrid Bond  ibond@manistee.org

Karla Hilliard kjhilliard@manistee.org

Tara Lange  tlange@manistee.org

Krissy Onstott konstott@manistee.org

Amy Rankin arankin@manistee.org

Beryl Salzman bsalzman@manistee.org

Austin Slawinski  aslawinski@manistee.org

Sandra Turk sturk@manistee.org

Michele Traviss  mtraviss@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Carol Hansen  chansen@manistee.org

Terri Morski  tmorski@manistee.org

Julie Polcyn  jpolcyn@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Clarence Shultz  cschultz@manistee.org

Ray Willim  rwillim@manistee.org

 

MAPS Elementary ATP

 

Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Madison, Jefferson, and Kennedy

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact or Kenn Kott kkott@manistee.org, or Kevin Schmutzler kschmutzler@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.

 
What are the objectives of the ATP?

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration
What does ATP do?

We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

ATP Fundraiser

2018 Fundraiser - Wesco Popcorn Buckets! - MAPS Elementary ATP is pleased to announce that we are again selling the Wesco Popcorn Buckets this year.  We are so excited to partner with our local Wesco Stations to make this possible.

Buckets will sell for $12 each and can be refilled for FREE at all Wesco stations around the state from now until December 31, 2019!  This is a great holiday gift idea!  See the announcements section on this page for details about our 2018 fundraiser, and check back for future fundraising information.

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at Kennedy Elementary

The staff at Kennedy Elementary are looking forward to an exciting school year. Kennedy Elementary offers a challenging academic program along with many athletic opportunities and after school programs. We are proud of the programs our school offers and encourage you to work hard, do your best, and find success both academically and in your personal accomplishments.

We offer the following programs throughout the year:

  • PowerLearning 1:1 iPad instruction
  • Data Driven Instruction
  • Guaranteed & Viable Curriculum
  • Educational based field trips & assemblies
  • Paraprofessional Assistance
  • After-School Tutoring
  • Response to Intervention (RTI) & Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS)
  • Safenet
  • Child Study Meetings

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips tell the truth and are responsible

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips listen and value others

A | ACCEPTING — Chips are friendly to all

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work together as a team

K | KIND — Chips are helpful and caring


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.

Academic Excellence
  • Collaborative Classroom ELA Curriculum: Academic and Social-Emotional Learning
  • Needs Focused Enrichment Opportunities
  • Field Trip Travel Opportunities
  • Quiz Bowl
  • Science Olympiad
  • Team Teaching
Extracurricular Activities
  • Expanded MRA athletics
  • Student Council
  • Band
  • Young Men’s Breakfast Club
Parent Involvement
Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Madison, Jefferson, and Kennedy.

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration

What does the ATP do?: We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact or Kenn Kott kkott@manistee.org, or Kevin Schmutzler kschmutzler@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.

Seesaw

Seesaw is a service that we use K-6 at MAPS and is a simple way for teachers and students to record and share what’s happening in the classroom. Seesaw gives students a place to document their learning, be creative and learn how to use technology. Each student gets their own journal and will add things to it, like photos, videos, drawings, or notes. When there are new Seesaw posts, families can be notified via app notification, email or SMS. Parents are only notified about their own child’s work, and all data is safe and secure.

Contact your student’s classroom teacher to get more information about how you can get connected via Seesaw.