KENNEDY ELEMENTARY

Manistee Area Public Schools

Welcome to Kennedy!

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

As leaders, we inspire each other to dream more, learn more, and do more.

Chips Lead!

COVID-19 NOTIFICATION

In an effort to keep our MAPS community informed, below we are providing notification regarding any COVID-19 concerns related to our District.

 

Food Service Program

With support from the United States Department of Agriculture and Michigan Department of Education, Manistee Area Public Schools is grateful to be able to extend free meals for all children 18 and younger, and students with disabilities up to 26 years of age, in our Manistee community through the summer of 2021.  Once funding is no longer available, our Food Service Department will return to the National School Lunch Program parameters for public school food service.

MAPS will be serving all in-person learners free breakfast and lunch every school day at each building in the district.  We will also be offering free Grab & Go meals Mondays and Thursdays at Manistee Middle High School at MMHS at 525 Twelfth Street from 9 am to 10 am.  This food service program is available to all MAPS online learners in addition to any Manistee community families with children 18 & younger and students with disabilities up to 26 years of age.

Grab & Go Food Service program details:

  • Grab & Go meal service will offer breakfast and lunch meals distributed Mondays and Thursdays from 9 am to 10 am each week.
  • Curbside pick-up will be available at the MMHS main entrance drive at the student drop off area.
  • Meals provided on Monday will be breakfast & lunch for 3 days.
  • Meals provided on Thursday will be breakfast & lunch for 4 days to provide meals through the weekends.
  • Families of in-person learners are also able to pick up 2 breakfast and 2 lunch meals for their students on Thursdays to provide food through the weekend, following the same pick up instructions above.
  • If a holiday, snow day or school day scheduled to be off occurs on a Monday, the meal pick up will be Tuesday.
  • If a holiday or school day scheduled to be off occurs on a Thursday, the meal pick up will be Wednesday.  (Example Thanksgiving)
  • If a snow day, or other closure, occurs on Thursday meal pick up will be Friday.

Summer School Students
We will be serving meals to all students attending summer school within the building.  Only summer school students can be served indoors at this time.  The district will reevaluate early July, whether we can open to the public for daily service inside.

Students attending summer school can also request meals to be taken home for the weekends. Please make your request with one of our Nutrition Services team members or send an email to kcarlson@manistee.org to place an order for a Thursday meal pick-up after class.

We are grateful for the ability to continue providing this important service for the children of our community through the funding support of Federal and State agencies.

Kennedy Announcements

Your Kennedy Team


Location: 550 Maple St, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: (231) 723-3271
Fax: (231) 723-5879
School Office Hours: M-Th: 7:30am – 4pm, Friday 7:30am – 3pm


Principal: Joanie Wiersma jwiersma@manistee.org
Administrative Assistant: Holly Dahlquist hdahlquist@manistee.org

View Kennedy Staff
Administrative Team

Principal: Joanie Wiersma | jwiersma@manistee.org

Administrative Assistant: Holly Dahlquist | hdahlquist@manistee.org 


Instructional Staff

Jennifer Abel
3rd Grade Teacher  jabel@manistee.org

Wendy Adamski 
Specials - PE/Health wadamski@manistee.org 

Leah Antal 
3rd Grade Teacher lantal@manistee.org 

Krista Bennett
Math Coach kbennett@manistee.org

Dana Dobis 
Resource Room ddobis@manistee.org

William Edmondson
5th Grade Teacher  wedmondson@manistee.org

Amanda Feyen
Elementary Music  afeyen@manistee.org

Chasity Gouker
Title I Reading/Literacy Coach  cgouker@manistee.org

Tanya Hunter
5th Grade Teacher thunter@manistee.org

Jaclyn Kaminski
5th Grade Teacher jkaminski@manistee.org

Andrea Mack 
Specials - Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org 

Tina Mannon 
Long Term Substitute - 4th Grade tmannon@manistee.org 

Taylor Mellon 
5th Grade Teacher tmellon@manistee.org 

Emily Noteware 
Resource Room enoteware@manistee.org  

Josh Smith 
4th Grade Teacher jsmith@manistee.org 

Chelsea Sobanski
csobanski@manistee.org

Katie Struble
Part-Time Art (LT Sub) kstruble@manistee.org

Kayla Szokola 
3rd Grade Teacher kszokola@manistee.org

Sam Zeller
szeller@manistee.org

Kelly Zimmerman  
4th Grade Teacher kzimmerman@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Ingrid Bond  ibond@manistee.org

Nicole Bruce nbruce@manistee.org

Heidi Carter hcarter@manistee.org

Carly Cheever ccheever@manistee.org

Karla Lidtke klidtke@manistee.org

Tara Lange  tlange@manistee.org

Maggie Patterson mpatterson@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Carol Hansen  chansen@manistee.org

Terri Morski  tmorski@manistee.org

Jennifer Rogers  jrogers@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Clarence Schultz  cschultz@manistee.org

Don Froncek dfroncek@manistee.org

 

MAPS Elementary ATP

 

Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Madison, Jefferson, and Kennedy

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact Julia Raddatz raddatzj@manistee.org, or Joanie Wiersma jwiersma@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.

 
What are the objectives of the ATP?

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration
What does ATP do?

We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

ATP Points Tracker

Starting January 2019, ATP is starting a point tracker for volunteers!

How do I earn points?

  • Every ATP event (popcorn day, slushy day, winter carnival, etc.) every 2 hours you volunteer, you earn 1 point.
  • For showing up to our ATP meeting that’s once a month, you earn 1 point.
  • For suggesting a friend to volunteer & they show up for at least 2 hours, you earn 1 point.

 

All the points you earn will be entered for a drawing. At the end of the year, we will choose two winners. We hope to have a ton of volunteers!

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at Kennedy Elementary

The staff at Kennedy Elementary are looking forward to an exciting school year. Kennedy Elementary offers a challenging academic program along with many athletic opportunities and after school programs. We are proud of the programs our school offers and encourage you to work hard, do your best, and find success both academically and in your personal accomplishments.

We offer the following programs throughout the year:

  • PowerLearning 1:1 iPad instruction
  • Data Driven Instruction
  • Guaranteed & Viable Curriculum
  • Educational based field trips & assemblies
  • Paraprofessional Assistance
  • After-School Tutoring
  • Response to Intervention (RTI) & Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS)
  • Safenet
  • Child Study Meetings

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips tell the truth and are responsible

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips listen and value others

A | ACCEPTING — Chips are friendly to all

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work together as a team

K | KIND — Chips are helpful and caring


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.