KENNEDY ELEMENTARY

Manistee Area Public Schools

Welcome to Kennedy – Grades 3-5

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

As leaders, we inspire each other to dream more, learn more, and do more.

Chips Lead!

Please Note!

KENNEDY ELEMENTARY will be operating from the Madison Community Learning Center location for the 2022/23 & 2023/24 school years while construction is underway for our new elementary school building. MAPS students grades 3-5 will be at 1309 Madison Rd. (off of 28th Street), directions: MAP

Madison Main Building entrance

SUMMER FOOD SERVICE

Manistee Area Public Schools announce the sponsorship of the Summer Food Service Program for children. Free meals will be made available to children 18 years of age and under or persons up to age 26 who are enrolled in an educational program for the mentally or physically disabled that is recognized by a State or local public educational agency.  Meals will be provided at the site(s) listed below:

Congregate Meals Provided for children at the following sites:

Manistee High School                                         Jefferson Elementary

525 Twelfth St.                                                                                        515 Bryant Ave.
Manistee, MI 49660                                                                               Manistee, MI  49660

Breakfast & Lunch:   Mon.-Thurs.                                                        Breakfast & Lunch:   Mon.-Friday
June 7-August 11                                                                                    June 7 - August 11                                                                                         
Breakfast served 7:45am-8:30am                                                       Breakfast Served 7:45am-8:15am
Lunch served 11:30am-12:30pm                                                         Lunch Served 11:30am-12:30pm

NO SERVICE DURING THE WEEK OF  JULY  4                                 SERVICE DURING THE WEEK OF JULY 4 / CLOSED ON JULY 4   

UPDATE 7-12-22: We have been informed that President Biden has signed a bipartisan bill into law allowing a 3-month extension of free universal school meals with critical waivers that include the ability to offer FREE Grab & Go Summer meals for 7 days a week, up until the first day of school. 

MAPS Nutrition Services will participate to help our families with the high cost of food. 

Our Grab & Go program will begin on Monday July 18 and will continue through Monday, August 22:

  • We will offer pick up of a 7-day pack of breakfast & lunch on Mondays between 1pm-2pm at MMHS in the drop-off lane. 
  • If you are a family with student(s) participating in Summer School and eating meals at school, you can request a 2-day pack available for pickup at the same time as above, for weekend meals. Please contact Keri Carlson at kcarlson@manistee.org to place your order for these weekend meals for your Summer School student(s).
  • All children 18 & younger may participate and those up to 26 years of age enrolled in an educational program for the mentally or physically disabled that is recognized by a State or local public educational agency.

All Details of our Summer Feeding Program and menus available on our Nutrition Services page.

 

Kennedy Announcements

Pandemic EBT Message #2 – Kennedy School

Please review the attached document to see whether your child is eligible for Pandemic-EBT. Please note that the program can be different between school buildings within Manistee Area Public Schools. John F. Kennedy Elem. School (2) New reconsideration form. The form...

read more

Pandemic EBT – Kennedy School

Please review the attached document to see whether your child is eligible for Pandemic-EBT. Please note that the program can be different between school buildings within Manistee Area Public Schools. John F. Kennedy Elem. School New reconsideration form. The form is...

read more

Your Kennedy Team


Location: 1309 Madison Rd, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: (231) 723-3271
Fax: (231) 723-5879
School Office Hours: M-Th: 7:30am – 4pm, Friday 7:30am – 3pm


Principal: Joanie Wiersma jwiersma@manistee.org
Administrative Assistant: Holly Dahlquist hdahlquist@manistee.org

View Kennedy Staff
Administrative Team

Principal: Joanie Wiersma | jwiersma@manistee.org

Administrative Assistant: Holly Dahlquist | hdahlquist@manistee.org 


Instructional Staff

Jennifer Abel
3rd Grade Teacher  jabel@manistee.org

Wendy Adamski 
Specials - PE/Health wadamski@manistee.org 

Leah Antal 
3rd Grade Teacher lantal@manistee.org 

Krista Bennett
Math Coach kbennett@manistee.org

William Edmondson
5th Grade Teacher  wedmondson@manistee.org

Amanda Feyen
Elementary Music  afeyen@manistee.org

Chasity Gouker
Title I Reading/Literacy Coach  cgouker@manistee.org

Tanya Hunter
5th Grade Teacher thunter@manistee.org

Jaclyn Kaminski
5th Grade Teacher jkaminski@manistee.org

Andrea Mack 
Specials - Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org 

Tina Mannon 
4th Grade tmannon@manistee.org 

Taylor Mellon 
5th Grade Teacher tmellon@manistee.org 

Emily Noteware 
Resource Room enoteware@manistee.org  

Linda Slotegraaf
Elementary Art lslotegraaf@manistee.org

Josh Smith 
3rd Grade Teacher jsmith@manistee.org 

Chelsea Sobanski
4th Grade Teacher csobanski@manistee.org

Kayla Szokola 
3rd Grade Teacher kszokola@manistee.org

Sam Zeller
Elementary Coding szeller@manistee.org

Kelly Zimmerman  
4th Grade Teacher kzimmerman@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Ingrid Bond  ibond@manistee.org

Nicole Bruce nbruce@manistee.org

Heidi Carter hcarter@manistee.org

Carly Cheever ccheever@manistee.org

Kelly Dawson kdawson@manistee.org

Natalie Knickerbocker nknickerbocker@manistee.org

Karla Lidtke klidtke@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Carol Hansen  chansen@manistee.org

Laura Olk  lolk@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Clarence Schultz  cschultz@manistee.org

Don Froncek dfroncek@manistee.org

 

MAPS Elementary ATP

 

Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Jefferson and Kennedy

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact Julia Raddatz raddatzj@manistee.org, or Joanie Wiersma jwiersma@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.

 
What are the objectives of the ATP?

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration
What does ATP do?

We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

ATP Points Tracker

Starting January 2019, ATP is starting a point tracker for volunteers!

How do I earn points?

  • Every ATP event (popcorn day, slushy day, winter carnival, etc.) every 2 hours you volunteer, you earn 1 point.
  • For showing up to our ATP meeting that’s once a month, you earn 1 point.
  • For suggesting a friend to volunteer & they show up for at least 2 hours, you earn 1 point.

 

All the points you earn will be entered for a drawing. At the end of the year, we will choose two winners. We hope to have a ton of volunteers!

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at Kennedy Elementary

The staff at Kennedy Elementary are looking forward to an exciting school year. Kennedy Elementary offers a challenging academic program along with many athletic opportunities and after school programs. We are proud of the programs our school offers and encourage you to work hard, do your best, and find success both academically and in your personal accomplishments.

We offer the following programs throughout the year:

  • PowerLearning 1:1 iPad instruction
  • Data Driven Instruction
  • Guaranteed & Viable Curriculum
  • Educational based field trips & assemblies
  • Paraprofessional Assistance
  • After-School Tutoring
  • Response to Intervention (RTI) & Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS)
  • Safenet
  • Child Study Meetings

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips tell the truth and are responsible

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips listen and value others

A | ACCEPTING — Chips are friendly to all

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work together as a team

K | KIND — Chips are helpful and caring


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.