KENNEDY ELEMENTARY

Manistee Area Public Schools

Welcome to Kennedy – Grades 3-5

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

As leaders, we inspire each other to dream more, learn more, and do more.

Chips Lead!

Please Note!

KENNEDY ELEMENTARY will be operating from the Madison Community Learning Center location for the 2022/23 & 2023/24 school years while construction is underway for our new elementary school building. MAPS students grades 3-5 will be at 1309 Madison Rd. (off of 28th Street), directions: MAP

Madison Main Building entrance
Parent Teacher Conference Information

Jefferson & Kennedy Elementary and Manistee Middle/High School will be conducting their Parent Teacher Conferences on or around the following dates/time: Thursday, October 13th in the evening (3:30pm -7:30pm) and Friday, October 14th (noon- 2 pm).  This is an opportunity for you to meet with your child’s teachers to discuss their progress in school.  Your child’s teacher will be discussing the following areas with you:

Conference sign-ups will begin online starting Friday, Sept 30th. 

Please follow the steps below to sign up for your preferred conference date and time.  There are only a select number of appointments for a given time slot (we recommend that you sign up early for your preferred time and date).  Time slots fill quickly so please sign up early; sign ups end at Thursday, Oct 13th at 9:00 pm. 

Directions for Conference Sign-ups

  1. Go to www.myconferencetime.com/manistee
  2. Find and click on the name of your child’s teacher. If you have multiple children and/or any 6th-12th grade students attending our schools, click on “Register for Multiple Conferences” and follow the prompts to schedule your child/children for several conferences.
  3. Select your preferred date and time.
  4. Enter required information -(e-mail address is not required, but if you enter one, you will receive an email confirmation.)
  5. Click “Sign Up for Your Conference” near the bottom of the screen.

You’re done! That’s all there is to it.  

If you are unable to sign up for a time and date online, please send a note/email with three preferred times and dates to your child’s teacher.  We will attempt to schedule a conference for your desired date and time but cannot guarantee your top choices as time slots fill up quickly.  

  • If you need additional time with a teacher, you can schedule with your child’s teacher(s).
  • Thank you for signing up for a parent-teacher conference. We look forward to meeting with you soon.
  • MyConferenceTime does not sell or share student, parent or staff information 
Kennedy Parking Lot Map

Kennedy Announcements

Lead Safe Educational Outreach

During the most recent round of drinking water testing, the City of Manistee exceeded the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy's (EGLE) Action Level for lead. The "Action Level" is not a health-based standard, but it is a level that triggers...

read more

Your Kennedy Team


Location: 1309 Madison Rd, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: (231) 723-3271
Fax: (231) 723-5879
School Office Hours: M-Th: 7:30am – 4pm, Friday 7:30am – 3pm


Principal: Joanie Wiersma jwiersma@manistee.org
Administrative Assistant: Carly Cheever ccheever@manistee.org

View Kennedy Staff
Administrative Team

Principal: Joanie Wiersma | jwiersma@manistee.org

Administrative Assistant: Carly Cheever | ccheever@manistee.org


Instructional Staff

Jennifer Abel
5th Grade Teacher  jabel@manistee.org

Wendy Adamski 
Specials - PE/Health wadamski@manistee.org 

Leah Antal 
3rd Grade Teacher lantal@manistee.org 

Krista Bennett
Math Coach kbennett@manistee.org

William Edmondson
5th Grade Teacher  wedmondson@manistee.org

Amanda Feyen
Elementary Music  afeyen@manistee.org

Chasity Gouker
Title I Reading/Literacy Coach  cgouker@manistee.org

Tanya Hunter
5th Grade Teacher thunter@manistee.org

Jaclyn Kaminski
5th Grade Teacher jkaminski@manistee.org

Andrea Mack 
Specials - Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org 

Tina Mannon 
4th Grade tmannon@manistee.org 

Taylor Mellon 
5th Grade Teacher tmellon@manistee.org 

Alayna Neilly
3rd Grade Teacher aneilly@manistee.org

Emily Noteware 
Resource Room enoteware@manistee.org  

Sarah Padgett
4th Grade Teacher spadgett@manistee.org

Michael Rosteck
Specials - Elementary Art mrosteck@manistee.org

Linda Slotegraaf
Elementary Art lslotegraaf@manistee.org

Josh Smith 
3rd Grade Teacher jsmith@manistee.org 

Kayla Szokola 
3rd Grade Teacher kszokola@manistee.org

Sam Zeller
Elementary Coding szeller@manistee.org

Kelly Zimmerman  
4th Grade Teacher kzimmerman@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Ingrid Bond  ibond@manistee.org

Jackleen Bartell  jbartell@manistee.org

Nicole Bruce nbruce@manistee.org

Heidi Carter hcarter@manistee.org

Karla Cole kcole@manistee.org

Macie Goodspeed mgoodspeed@manistee.org

Jill Johnson jjohnson@manistee.org

Natalie Knickerbocker nknickerbocker@manistee.org

Philip Kroll pkroll@manistee.org

Maggie Madsen mmadsen@manistee.org

Stacee O'Dell sodell@manistee.org

Clay Slawinski cslawinski@manistee.org

Morgan Smith msmith@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Carol Hansen  chansen@manistee.org

Laura Olk  lolk@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Don Froncek dfroncek@manistee.org

Susan Steinberg  ssteinberg@manistee.org

 

MAPS Elementary ATP

 

Action Team for Partnership (ATP)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Jefferson and Kennedy

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference. Contact Julia Raddatz raddatzj@manistee.org, or Joanie Wiersma jwiersma@manistee.org for more information or to join our ATP family.

 
What are the objectives of the ATP?

The Manistee Area Public Schools parent group Action Team for Partnership (ATP) is a group of dedicated parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration
What does ATP do?

We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

ATP Points Tracker

Starting January 2019, ATP is starting a point tracker for volunteers!

How do I earn points?

  • Every ATP event (popcorn day, slushy day, winter carnival, etc.) every 2 hours you volunteer, you earn 1 point.
  • For showing up to our ATP meeting that’s once a month, you earn 1 point.
  • For suggesting a friend to volunteer & they show up for at least 2 hours, you earn 1 point.

 

All the points you earn will be entered for a drawing. At the end of the year, we will choose two winners. We hope to have a ton of volunteers!

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at Kennedy Elementary

The staff at Kennedy Elementary are looking forward to an exciting school year. Kennedy Elementary offers a challenging academic program along with many athletic opportunities and after school programs. We are proud of the programs our school offers and encourage you to work hard, do your best, and find success both academically and in your personal accomplishments.

We offer the following programs throughout the year:

  • PowerLearning 1:1 iPad instruction
  • Data Driven Instruction
  • Guaranteed & Viable Curriculum
  • Educational based field trips & assemblies
  • Paraprofessional Assistance
  • After-School Tutoring
  • Response to Intervention (RTI) & Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS)
  • Safenet
  • Child Study Meetings

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips tell the truth and are responsible

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips listen and value others

A | ACCEPTING — Chips are friendly to all

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work together as a team

K | KIND — Chips are helpful and caring


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.