KENNEDY ELEMENTARY

Manistee Area Public Schools

Welcome to Kennedy – Grades 3-5

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

As leaders, we inspire each other to dream more, learn more, and do more.

Chips Lead!

Please Note!

KENNEDY ELEMENTARY will be operating from the Madison Community Learning Center location for the 2022/23 & 2023/24 school years while construction is underway for our new elementary school building. MAPS students grades 3-5 will be at 1309 Madison Rd. (off of 28th Street), directions: MAP

Madison Main Building entrance
Kennedy Parking Lot Map

Kennedy Announcements

Lead Safe Educational Outreach

During the most recent round of drinking water testing, the City of Manistee exceeded the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy's (EGLE) Action Level for lead. The "Action Level" is not a health-based standard, but it is a level that triggers...

read more

Your Kennedy Team


Location: 1309 Madison Rd, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: (231) 723-3271
Fax: (231) 723-5879
School Office Hours: M-Th: 7:30am – 4pm, Friday 7:30am – 3pm


Principal: Joanie Wiersma jwiersma@manistee.org
Administrative Assistant: Carly Cheever ccheever@manistee.org

View Kennedy Staff
Administrative Team

Principal: Joanie Wiersma | jwiersma@manistee.org

Administrative Assistant: Carly Cheever | ccheever@manistee.org


Instructional Staff

Jennifer Abel
5th Grade Teacher  jabel@manistee.org

Wendy Adamski 
Specials - PE/Health wadamski@manistee.org 

Leah Antal 
3rd Grade Teacher lantal@manistee.org 

Krista Bennett
Math Coach kbennett@manistee.org

William Edmondson
5th Grade Teacher  wedmondson@manistee.org

Amanda Feyen
Elementary Music  afeyen@manistee.org

Chasity Gouker
Title I Reading/Literacy Coach  cgouker@manistee.org

Tanya Hunter
5th Grade Teacher thunter@manistee.org

Jaclyn Kaminski
5th Grade Teacher jkaminski@manistee.org

Andrea Mack 
Specials - Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org 

Tina Mannon 
4th Grade tmannon@manistee.org 

Taylor Mellon 
5th Grade Teacher tmellon@manistee.org 

Alayna Neilly
3rd Grade Teacher aneilly@manistee.org

Emily Noteware 
Resource Room enoteware@manistee.org  

Sarah Padgett
4th Grade Teacher spadgett@manistee.org

Michael Rosteck
Specials - Elementary Art mrosteck@manistee.org

Linda Slotegraaf
Elementary Art lslotegraaf@manistee.org

Josh Smith 
3rd Grade Teacher jsmith@manistee.org 

Kayla Szokola 
3rd Grade Teacher kszokola@manistee.org

Sam Zeller
Elementary Coding szeller@manistee.org

Kelly Zimmerman  
4th Grade Teacher kzimmerman@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Jackleen Bartell  jbartell@manistee.org

Ingrid Bond  ibond@manistee.org

Logan Bond lbond@manistee.org

Jill Johnson jjohnson@manistee.org

Natalie Knickerbocker nknickerbocker@manistee.org

Philip Kroll pkroll@manistee.org

Maggie Madsen mmadsen@manistee.org

Clay Slawinski cslawinski@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Carol Hansen  chansen@manistee.org

Laura Olk  lolk@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Don Froncek dfroncek@manistee.org

Susan Steinberg  ssteinberg@manistee.org

 

MAPS ATP Header
2022-2023 Meeting Schedule
Nov 30th
Jan 18
Feb 15th
Mar 15
Apr 19th
May 17th
June 14th
 
All meetings are held 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm and are located in Mrs. Bradford’s classroom at Jefferson Elementary.

MEETING MINUTES

 

MAPS Elementary ATP (Assembly for Teachers & Parents)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Jefferson and Kennedy, grades Pre-K through 5.

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference.

 
What does ATP do?

We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

Current Officers
Shannon Patrick, MAPS ATP President
Kim Anderson, MAPS ATP Secretary
Shannon Franckowiak, MAPS ATP Treasurer
ATP Contact Information

ATP Contact: mapsatp1@gmail.com and we can be found on Facebook as MAPS Elementary ATP

Building Contacts: Jefferson: Julia Raddatz raddatzj@manistee.org, or Kennedy: Joanie Wiersma jwiersma@manistee.org

What are the objectives of the ATP?

The MAPS Elementary ATP (Assembly of Teachers & Parents), is a dedicated group parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students grades Pre-K through 5th. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration
ATP Points Tracker

Starting January 2019, ATP is starting a point tracker for volunteers!

How do I earn points?

  • Every ATP event (popcorn day, slushy day, winter carnival, etc.) every 2 hours you volunteer, you earn 1 point.
  • For showing up to our ATP meeting that’s once a month, you earn 1 point.
  • For suggesting a friend to volunteer & they show up for at least 2 hours, you earn 1 point.

All the points you earn will be entered for a drawing. At the end of the year, we will choose two winners. We hope to have a ton of volunteers!

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at Kennedy Elementary

The staff at Kennedy Elementary are looking forward to an exciting school year. Kennedy Elementary offers a challenging academic program along with many athletic opportunities and after school programs. We are proud of the programs our school offers and encourage you to work hard, do your best, and find success both academically and in your personal accomplishments.

We offer the following programs throughout the year:

  • PowerLearning 1:1 iPad instruction
  • Data Driven Instruction
  • Guaranteed & Viable Curriculum
  • Educational based field trips & assemblies
  • Paraprofessional Assistance
  • After-School Tutoring
  • Response to Intervention (RTI) & Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS)
  • Safenet
  • Child Study Meetings

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips tell the truth and are responsible

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips listen and value others

A | ACCEPTING — Chips are friendly to all

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work together as a team

K | KIND — Chips are helpful and caring


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.