Manistee Middle + High School

Grades: 6-12 | Manistee Area Public Schools

MIDDLE+HIGH QUICK LINKS  | Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources : Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Manistee Middle/High School!

Please Note: The indoor walking track is closed at this time. The outdoor track may be used for recreational walking after school hours.

By making positive choices, striving toward personal goals, and supporting each other, we all make a difference in the world around us. We inspire each other to dream more, learn more and do more.

We are equipped with the knowledge and values necessary to become productive and successful citizens of our world. With respect, dedication, and integrity, we work as a community to reach our highest potential.

Chips Lead!

Parent Teacher Conference Information

Jefferson & Kennedy Elementary and Manistee Middle/High School will be conducting their Parent Teacher Conferences on or around the following dates/time: Thursday, October 13th in the evening (3:30pm -7:30pm) and Friday, October 14th (noon- 2 pm).  This is an opportunity for you to meet with your child’s teachers to discuss their progress in school.  Your child’s teacher will be discussing the following areas with you:

Conference sign-ups will begin online starting Friday, Sept 30th. 

Please follow the steps below to sign up for your preferred conference date and time.  There are only a select number of appointments for a given time slot (we recommend that you sign up early for your preferred time and date).  Time slots fill quickly so please sign up early; sign ups end at Thursday, Oct 13th at 9:00 pm. 

Directions for Conference Sign-ups

  1. Go to www.myconferencetime.com/manistee
  2. Find and click on the name of your child’s teacher. If you have multiple children and/or any 6th-12th grade students attending our schools, click on “Register for Multiple Conferences” and follow the prompts to schedule your child/children for several conferences.
  3. Select your preferred date and time.
  4. Enter required information -(e-mail address is not required, but if you enter one, you will receive an email confirmation.)
  5. Click “Sign Up for Your Conference” near the bottom of the screen.

You’re done! That’s all there is to it.  

If you are unable to sign up for a time and date online, please send a note/email with three preferred times and dates to your child’s teacher.  We will attempt to schedule a conference for your desired date and time but cannot guarantee your top choices as time slots fill up quickly.  

  • If you need additional time with a teacher, you can schedule with your child’s teacher(s).
  • Thank you for signing up for a parent-teacher conference. We look forward to meeting with you soon.
  • MyConferenceTime does not sell or share student, parent or staff information 

MMHS Announcements

Homecoming 2022 Update

Our Homecoming parade will now start at 4:30pm on Friday. Here are the rest of the events for the week: Wednesday - Powder Puff consolation and final games @ Chippewa Field 6:00-8:00pm - Bonfire immediately following final game Thursday - MS Assembly in gym during...

read more

Manistee EMT @ MMHS

This morning Manistee Fire/EMT personnel responded to a student in distress. The student is receiving proper care and with family. MAPS is appreciative of the quick reaction time and excellent care that our students continue to receive from our local first...

read more

MMHS Middle School Summer Football Schedule

Hello all.  Below you will find our MMHS middle school summer schedule for this upcoming season.  Please email me at jhendges@manistee.org if you have questions.  Please be advised that all student-athletes MUST have a current physical on file (2022-23 school year) in...

read more

Your MMHS Team


Location: 525 Twelfth Street, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: 231-723-2547
Fax: 231-398-9277
Attendance Hotline: 231-398-3625
School Office Hours: M-Th: 7:30am – 4pm, Friday 7:30am – 3:30pm


Administrative Team

Principal: Andy Huber – ahuber@manistee.org    

Assistant Principal: Morgan Nowicki – mnowicki@manistee.org

Student Success/Dean of Students: Tom Sheppard – tsheppard@manistee.org

Athletic Director: Kenn Kott – kkott@manistee.org

Secretary: Kasandra Johnson – kkjohnson@manistee.org

Secretary: Karen Beldo – kbeldo@manistee.org

Guidance Counselor: Paul Howes – phowes@manistee.org

Guidance Secretary: Tara Lange – tlange@manistee.org

Assistant Athletic Director: Kendra Mikolajczak – kmikolajczak@manistee.org

View MMHS Staff
MMHS Staff  
 
 Name Title / Grade / Content Area Email
 Administrative Staff 
 Andy Huber HS/MS Principal ahuber@manistee.org
 Morgan Nowicki Assistant Principal mnowicki@manistee.org
 Tom SheppardDean of Studentstsheppard@manistee.org
Karen BeldoAdministrative Assistant kbeldo@manistee.org
Kasandra JohnsonAdministrative Assistant kkjohnson@manistee.org
 Guidance 
 Paul Howes Guidance Counselor phowes@manistee.org
 Tara Lange Guidance Administrative Assistant / Registrar tlange@manistee.org
   
   
 Activities 
Kenn KottAthletic Directorkkott@manistee.org
 Beth ForbesActivities Secretary/Assistant Athletic Directorbforbes@manistee.org
 Kendra MikolajczakActivities Secretary/Assistant Athletic Directorkmikolajczak@manistee.org
  District Technology 
 Kenneth Blakey-Shell District Technology Director kblakeyshell@manistee.org
 Gabe Delgado Elementary Device Supportgdelgado@manistee.org
Matt Froncek Apple Certified Technician mfroncek@manistee.org
David Gagstetter Data & Device Systemsdgagstetter@manistee.org
   
   
  MMHS School Instructional Staff 
 Stacey Andrews-RamseySpanishsandrews@manistee.org
 Gregg BennettSocial Sciencegbennett@manistee.org
 Chelsea BurnsPE/Health cburns@manistee.org
 Dan Burns Language Arts dburns@manistee.org
 Troy Bytwork Social Science tbytwork@manistee.org
 Amanda Clemons English aclemons@manistee.org
 Jane Deising Special Education jdeising@manistee.org
 Rachel Edmondson Language Artsreedmondson@manistee.org
 Cindy Erdman Special Education cerdman@manistee.org
 Amanda Feyen Choir afeyen@manistee.org
 Joe Hendges Social Science jhendges@manistee.org
 Marcy Huber Math mhuber@manistee.org
 Kristen Johnson Special Education kjohnson@manistee.org
 Sam Joseph Language Arts sjoseph@manistee.org
 Brooke Koller Special Education bkoller@manistee.org
 Michelle LaPrad Science mlaprad@manistee.org
 Andrea Mack Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org
 Cassie Miller PE/Health cmmiller@manistee.org
 Troy Nezki Math tnezki@manistee.org
 Cheryl O'Connor Social Studies coconnor@manistee.org
 Ryan O'Donnell Science rodonnell@manistee.org
 Mary Olson Science molson@manistee.org
 Amber Poortvliet Science apoortvliet@manistee.org
 Kevin Postma Science kpostma@manistee.org
 Amber Puchtel Art apuchtel@manistee.org
 Tobia Purple Special Education tpurple@manistee.org
 Dan Saylor Social Sciencedsaylor@manistee.org
 Polly Schlaff Language Arts pschlaff@manistee.org
 Devin Schweigert Sciencedschweigert@manistee.org
Whitney Simic-Finch Math wsimicfinch@manistee.org
 Joel Smith Social Studies smithj@manistee.org
 Kathy Smith Math ksmith@manistee.org
 Hannah Starmann Language Arts hstarmann@manistee.org
 Eric Thuemmel Math ethuemmel@manistee.org
 Michael Tilmann II PE/Health mtilmann@manistee.org
 Bridget Warnke Science bdontz@manistee.org
 Amy Watkins Math awatkins@manistee.org
   
   
   
Paraprofessionals
Ingrid Bond Band Paraprofessionalibond@manistee.org
Carrie CameronOne to One Paraprofessionalccameron@manistee.org
Courtney ColeOne to One Paraprofessionalccole@manistee.org
Todd GarberOne to One Paraprofessionaltgarber@manistee.org
Kristen MezeskeOne to One Paraprofessionalkmezeske@manistee.org
Nichole SchroederOne to One Paraprofessionalnschroeder@manistee.org
Cindy Sheathelm Paraprofessionalcsheathelm@manistee.org
 Robert Von HerbruckOne to One Paraprofessional rvonherbruck@manistee.org
 Jennifer Williams MS Activities Director jwilliams@manistee.org
   
 MMHS School Custodial
Lori HansenCustodianlhansen@manistee.org
James Kropacek Custodian jkropacek@manistee.org
Dan Lloyd Custodian dlloyd@manistee.org
Steve Sciba Custodian ssciba@manistee.org
   
Nutrition Service
 Keri CarlsonNutrition Service Director kcarlson@manistee.org
Stacy ApplegarthNutrition Servicebapplegarth@manistee.org
Jessica BrownNutrition Service 
 Richard KoonNutrition Service (Driver) rkoon@manistee.org
Bonnie KruseNutrition Servicebkruse@manistee.org
 Terri MorskiNutrition Service (Meals on Wheels) tmorski@manistee.org
 Jennifer RogersNutrition Service (Senior Meals Program) jrogers@manistee.org
 Linda WandrychNutrition Service lwandrych@manistee.org
 Facilities 
Don Olk dolk@manistee.org
Jeff Bowerman jbowerman@manistee.org
Douglas MonteyConsultantdmontey@manistee.org
 Paine Aquatic Center 
Corey VanFleet cvanfleet@manistee.org
   
   

 

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at MMHS

Our goal at Manistee Middle/High School is to provide the utmost in educational opportunities for our students – utilizing both our state-of-the-art facilities and outstanding staff. Whether leading a host of challenging classes or providing support systems to meet the needs of every student, we strive to do it the Chippewa way – the right way – every day. We look forward to another great year of traditions in academic excellence and exciting activities!  Our commitment to exceeding expectations continues to make Manistee Area Public Schools the district of choice.

Chips Lead!

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips are reliable, honest, and dependable

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips are considerate of the beliefs and opinions of others

A | ACCEPTING — Chips welcome diversity without judgment

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work together towards common goals

K | KIND — Chips are thoughtful, helpful, and appreciative


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.