Manistee Middle + High School

Grades: 6-12 | Manistee Area Public Schools

MIDDLE+HIGH QUICK LINKS  | Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources : Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Manistee Middle/High School!

Please Note: The indoor walking track is closed at this time. The outdoor track may be used for recreational walking after school hours.

By making positive choices, striving toward personal goals, and supporting each other, we all make a difference in the world around us. We inspire each other to dream more, learn more and do more.

We are equipped with the knowledge and values necessary to become productive and successful citizens of our world. With respect, dedication, and integrity, we work as a community to reach our highest potential.

Chips Lead!

Summer Road Construction

Beginning Tuesday, June 7, 2022, Twelfth Street will be closed to all traffic between Oak Street and Elm Street. They will be reconstructing the road, curbs, and sidewalk. Anyone accessing Manistee Middle High School beginning June 7, will need to enter via Tamarack.

We have confirmation that the concrete crew will be on-site Monday through Thursday, July 25 – 28. The entrance to the Paine Aquatic Center will remain open for this week but will then be closed next week starting July 25 and reopening August 1. Alternative parking will be available in the main lot during that period of time. Those needing handicap parking at the pool should use the gravel access road behind the school building to get to the parking lot. 

We are still asking anyone that is using the practice field on Elm Street to park in the school parking lot. Cars will not be able to use Elm Street during road construction.

We appreciate your patience and cooperation while the City of Manistee works to make improvements to our roadway.

SUMMER FOOD SERVICE

Manistee Area Public Schools announce the sponsorship of the Summer Food Service Program for children. Free meals will be made available to children 18 years of age and under or persons up to age 26 who are enrolled in an educational program for the mentally or physically disabled that is recognized by a State or local public educational agency.  Meals will be provided at the site(s) listed below:

Congregate Meals Provided for children at the following sites:

Manistee High School                                         Jefferson Elementary

525 Twelfth St.                                                                                        515 Bryant Ave.
Manistee, MI 49660                                                                               Manistee, MI  49660

Breakfast & Lunch:   Mon.-Thurs.                                                        Breakfast & Lunch:   Mon.-Friday
June 7-August 11                                                                                    June 7 - August 11                                                                                         
Breakfast served 7:45am-8:30am                                                       Breakfast Served 7:45am-8:15am
Lunch served 11:30am-12:30pm                                                         Lunch Served 11:30am-12:30pm

NO SERVICE DURING THE WEEK OF  JULY  4                                 SERVICE DURING THE WEEK OF JULY 4 / CLOSED ON JULY 4   

UPDATE 7-12-22: We have been informed that President Biden has signed a bipartisan bill into law allowing a 3-month extension of free universal school meals with critical waivers that include the ability to offer FREE Grab & Go Summer meals for 7 days a week, up until the first day of school. 

MAPS Nutrition Services will participate to help our families with the high cost of food. 

Our Grab & Go program will begin on Monday July 18 and will continue through Monday, August 22:

  • We will offer pick up of a 7-day pack of breakfast & lunch on Mondays between 1pm-2pm at MMHS in the drop-off lane. 
  • If you are a family with student(s) participating in Summer School and eating meals at school, you can request a 2-day pack available for pickup at the same time as above, for weekend meals. Please contact Keri Carlson at kcarlson@manistee.org to place your order for these weekend meals for your Summer School student(s).
  • All children 18 & younger may participate and those up to 26 years of age enrolled in an educational program for the mentally or physically disabled that is recognized by a State or local public educational agency.

All Details of our Summer Feeding Program and menus available on our Nutrition Services page.

 

MMHS Announcements

MMHS Middle School Summer Football Schedule

Hello all.  Below you will find our MMHS middle school summer schedule for this upcoming season.  Please email me at jhendges@manistee.org if you have questions.  Please be advised that all student-athletes MUST have a current physical on file (2022-23 school year) in...

read more

2021-2022 HS Yearbook Updates

The 2021-2022 HIGH SCHOOL yearbook will be distributed to students at MMHS in September 2022. HS yearbooks can be purchased online at https://www.treering.com/validate?PassCode=1015200097754904 through June 5th. After June 5th you can still order a yearbook online,...

read more

Your MMHS Team


Location: 525 Twelfth Street, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: 231-723-2547
Fax: 231-398-9277
Attendance Hotline: 231-398-3625
School Office Hours: M-Th: 7:30am – 4pm, Friday 7:30am – 3:30pm


Administrative Team

Principal/Interim Athletic Director: Andy Huber – ahuber@manistee.org    

Assistant Principal: Ken Kott – kkott@manistee.org

Assistant Principal: Morgan Nowicki – mnowicki@manistee.org

Secretary: Denise Slonecki – dslonecki@manistee.org

Guidance Counselor: Paul Howes – phowes@manistee.org

Guidance Secretary: Penny Kiss – pkiss@manistee.org

Assistant Athletic Director: Beth Forbes – bforbes@manistee.org

View MMHS Staff
MMHS Staff  
 
 Name Title / Grade / Content Area Email
 Administrative Staff 
 Andy Huber HS/MS Principal/Interim Athletic Director ahuber@manistee.org
 Morgan Nowicki Assistant Principal mnowicki@manistee.org
 Denise SloneckiAdministrative Assistant dslonecki@manistee.org
 Kasandra Johnson Administrative Assistant kkjohnson@manistee.org
   
 Guidance 
 Paul Howes Guidance Counselor phowes@manistee.org
 Penny Kiss Guidance Administrative Assistant / Registrar pkiss@manistee.org
 Matt Kieffer Student Support mkieffer@manistee.org
 Sarah Wallett Student Recovery Classroom swallett@manistee.org
   
  Activities 
 Andy Huber Interim Athletic Director ahuber@manistee.org
 Beth Forbes Activities Secretary/Assistant Athletic Director bforbes@manistee.org
  District Technology 
 Kenneth Blakey-Shell District Technology Director kblakeyshell@manistee.org
 Gabe Delgado Elementary Device Supportgdelgado@manistee.org
Matt Froncek Apple Certified Technician mfroncek@manistee.org
David Gagstetter Data & Device Systemsdgagstetter@manistee.org
   
   
  MMHS School Instructional Staff 
 Stacey Andrews-RamseySpanishsandrews@manistee.org
 Gregg BennettSocial Sciencegbennett@manistee.org
 Chelsea BurnsPE/Health cburns@manistee.org
 Dan Burns Language Arts dburns@manistee.org
 Troy Bytwork Social Science tbytwork@manistee.org
 Amanda Clemons English aclemons@manistee.org
 Rachel Edmondson Language Artsreedmondson@manistee.org
 Cindy Erdman Special Education cerdman@manistee.org
 Amanda Feyen Choir afeyen@manistee.org
 Joe Hendges Social Science jhendges@manistee.org
 Marcy Huber Math mhuber@manistee.org
 Kristen Johnson Special Education kjohnson@manistee.org
 Sam Joseph Language Arts sjoseph@manistee.org
 Brooke Koller Special Education bkoller@manistee.org
 Michelle LaPrad Science mlaprad@manistee.org
 Andrea Mack Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org
 Cassie Miller PE/Health cmmiller@manistee.org
 Troy Nezki Math tnezki@manistee.org
 Cheryl O'Connor Social Studies coconnor@manistee.org
 Ryan O'Donnell Science rodonnell@manistee.org
 Mary Olson Science molson@manistee.org
 Kevin Postma Science kpostma@manistee.org
 Amber Puchtel Art apuchtel@manistee.org
 Tobia Purple Special Education tpurple@manistee.org
 Dan Saylor Social Sciencedsaylor@manistee.org
 Polly Schlaff Language Arts pschlaff@manistee.org
 Devin Schweigert Sciencedschweigert@manistee.org
Whitney Simic-Finch Math wsimicfinch@manistee.org
 Joel Smith Social Studies smithj@manistee.org
 Kathy Smith Math ksmith@manistee.org
 Maria Solberg Language Arts msolberg@manistee.org
 Hannah Starmann Language Arts hstarmann@manistee.org
 Eric Thuemmel Math ethuemmel@manistee.org
 Michael Tilmann II PE/Health mtilmann@manistee.org
 Bridget Warnke Science bdontz@manistee.org
 Amy Watkins Math awatkins@manistee.org
 Safenet 
 Sonya BroadbentSafenet sbroadbent@manistee.org
   
Paraprofessionals
Ingrid Bond Band Paraprofessionalibond@manistee.org
 Logan Bond Paraprofessionallbond@manistee.org
Todd GarberOne to One Paraprofessionaltgarber@manistee.org
 Tara Lange Paraprofessionaltlange@manistee.org
Kristen MezeskeOne to One Paraprofessionalkmezeske@manistee.org
Cindy Sheathelm Paraprofessionalcsheathelm@manistee.org
Karen SundbeckOne to One Paraprofessionalksundbeck@manistee.org
 Robert Von Herbruck Paraprofessional rvonherbruck@manistee.org
 Jennifer Williams MS Activities Director jwilliams@manistee.org
   
 MMHS School Custodial
Lori HansenCustodianlhansen@manistee.org
James Kropacek Custodian jkropacek@manistee.org
Dan Lloyd Custodian dlloyd@manistee.org
Steve Sciba Custodian ssciba@manistee.org
   
Nutrition Service
 Keri CarlsonNutrition Service Director kcarlson@manistee.org
Stacy ApplegarthNutrition Servicebapplegarth@manistee.org
 Kendra MikolajczakNutrition Service kmikolajczak@manistee.org
 Terri MorskiNutrition Service (Meals on Wheels) tmorski@manistee.org
 Richard KoonNutrition Service (Driver) rkoon@manistee.org
 Jennifer RogersNutrition Service (Senior Meals Program) jrogers@manistee.org
 Sue SteinbergNutrition Service ssteinberg@manistee.org
 Linda WandrychNutrition Service lwandrych@manistee.org
 Facilities 
Don Olk dolk@manistee.org
Jeff Bowerman jbowerman@manistee.org
Douglas MonteyConsultantdmontey@manistee.org
 Paine Aquatic Center 
Corey VanFleet cvanfleet@manistee.org
   
   

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at MMHS

Our goal at Manistee Middle/High School is to provide the utmost in educational opportunities for our students – utilizing both our state-of-the-art facilities and outstanding staff. Whether leading a host of challenging classes or providing support systems to meet the needs of every student, we strive to do it the Chippewa way – the right way – every day. We look forward to another great year of traditions in academic excellence and exciting activities!  Our commitment to exceeding expectations continues to make Manistee Area Public Schools the district of choice.

Chips Lead!

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips are reliable, honest, and dependable

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips are considerate of the beliefs and opinions of others

A | ACCEPTING — Chips welcome diversity without judgment

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work together towards common goals

K | KIND — Chips are thoughtful, helpful, and appreciative


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.