Manistee Middle + High School

Grades: 6-12 | Manistee Area Public Schools

MIDDLE+HIGH QUICK LINKS  |  Handbook : Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources : Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Manistee Middle/High School!

By making positive choices, striving toward personal goals, and supporting each other, we all make a difference in the world around us. We inspire each other to dream more, learn more and do more.

We are equipped with the knowledge and values necessary to become productive and successful citizens of our world. With respect, dedication, and integrity, we work as a community to reach our highest potential.

Chips Lead!

 

Based on recommendations from the Student Safety Advisor Council (SSAC), administration and you, the parents, we are making changes to the parking, student pick-up/drop-off and bus loops for the 2019/20 school year. The diagram here illustrates the creation of our new pick-up/drop-off zones, visitor parking, student/general parking and bus area. Please contact us with any questions you may have.

Join the Conversation.


Community Forums

Last spring Manistee Area Public Schools held community forums to gain feedback regarding three potential plans for a 20-year vision for the school district facilities. After collecting input from district and community stakeholders, MAPS is ready to reveal the MAPS 2020 Facilities Vision at two public forums scheduled for:

Thursday, September 5th at 7:00pm at the Kennedy Elementary Library
Monday, September 9th at 7:00 pm at the Kennedy Elementary Library

We hope you will join us!


Facilities Survey

Please lend your voice to the MAPS 2020 Vision by participating in our survey.

  • Takes Less Than 5 Minutes
  • Facilities Future Focused
  • Invitation to share your ideas

MMHS Announcements

OK2SAY Public Presentation

A representative from the state attorney general's office will be presenting a parent version of an introduction to the OK2SAY program to the Manistee community this Wednesday, September 4, at 6-7 pm in the MMHS auditorium.  Everyone is welcome to attend; along...

read more

12th Street Washed Out July 20

As a result of Saturday's rain, parts of 12th street have washed out along the football field.  Manistee City Police are asking all visitors to MMHS to use Tamarack street to 12th street to access the building and pool until further notice.  Work is planned to...

read more

MMHS graduate performs in CMU’s summer theater company

       Avery Kiefer, 2017 MHS graduate, will perform in Central Michigan University’s traveling summer theater company.The company will perform the comedies “A Fox on the Fairway” and “California Suite” in three locations this summer. Kiefer plays the role of Dickie...

read more

Your MMHS Team


Location: 525 Twelfth Street, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: 231-723-2547
Fax: 231-398-9277
School Office Hours: M-F: 7:30am – 4pm


Administrative Team

Principal: Andy Huber – ahuber@manistee.org    

Assistant Principal: Ken Kott – kkott@manistee.org

Secretary: Denise Slonecki – dslonecki@manistee.org

Guidance Counselor: Paul Howes – phowes@manistee.org

Guidance Secretary: Penny Kiss – pkiss@manistee.org

View MMHS Staff
MMHS Staff
 Name Title / Grade / Content Area Email
Administrative Staff
 Andy Huber HS/MS Principal ahuber@manistee.org
 Ken Kott HS/MS Assistant Principal kkott@manistee.org
 Denise Slonecki Administrative Assistant dslonecki@manistee.org
 Kasandra Johnson Administrative Assistant kkjohnson@manistee.org
Guidance
 Paul Howes Guidance Counselor phowes@manistee.org
 Penny Kiss Guidance Secretary pkiss@manistee.org
 Todd Garber Student Recovery Classroom tgarber@manistee.org
 Karen Sundbeck Student Recovery Classroom ksundbeck@manistee.org
 Kelsey Rhodes MCAN College Adviser / Credit Recovery Coordinator krhodes@manistee.org
 Activities
 Matt Kieffer Athletic Director mkieffer@manistee.org
 Beth Forbes Activities Secretary bforbes@manistee.org
 District Technology
 Kenneth Blakey-Shell District Technology Director kblakeyshell@manistee.org
 Gabe Delgado Elementary Device Supportgdelgado@manistee.org
Matt Froncek Apple Certified Technician mfroncek@manistee.org
David Gagstetter Data & Device Systemsdgagstetter@manistee.org
SafeNet
Sonya Broadbentsbroadbent@manistee.org
 MMHS School Instructional Staff
 Stacey Andrews-RamseySpanishsandrews@manistee.org
 Gregg BennettSocial Sciencegbennett@manistee.org
 Dan Burns Language Arts dburns@manistee.org
 Troy Bytwork Social Science tbytwork@manistee.org
 Amanda Clemons English aclemons@manistee.org
 Rachel Edmondson Language Artsreedmondson@manistee.org
 Cindy Erdman Special Education cerdman@manistee.org
 Amanda Feyen Choir afeyen@manistee.org
 Joe Hendges Social Science jhendges@manistee.org
 Marcy Huber Math mhuber@manistee.org
 Kristen Johnson Special Education kjohnson@manistee.org
 Sam Joseph Language Arts sjoseph@manistee.org
 Monte Klein Art mklein@manistee.org
 Brooke Koller Special Education bkoller@manistee.org
 Michelle LaPrad Science mlaprad@manistee.org
 Andrea Mack Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org
 Chelsea Matley PE/Health cmatley@manistee.org
 Cassie Miller PE/Health cmmiller@manistee.org
 Troy Nezki Math tnezki@manistee.org
 Morgan Nowicki Language Arts mnowicki@manistee.org
 Cheryl O'Connor Social Studies coconnor@manistee.org
 Ryan O'Donnell Science rodonnell@manistee.org
 Wendy Orton Family & Consumer Science, Special Education worton@manistee.org
 Matt Phillips Science mphillips@manistee.org
 Kevin Postma Science kpostma@manistee.org
 Dan Saylor Social Sciencedsaylor@manistee.org
 Polly Schlaff Language Arts pschlaff@manistee.org
 Devin Schweigert Sciencedschweigert@manistee.org
 Joel Smith Social Studies smithj@manistee.org
 Kathy Smith Math ksmith@manistee.org
 Hannah Starmann Language Arts hstarmann@manistee.org
 Michael Swanson Math mswanson@manistee.org
 Eric Thuemmel Math ethuemmel@manistee.org
 Michael Tilmann II PE/Health mtilmann@manistee.org
 Brian Veine Video/Math bveine@manistee.org
 Bridget Warnke Science bdontz@manistee.org
 Amy Watkins Math awatkins@manistee.org
 Sara Workman Special Education sworkman@manistee.org
Paraprofessionals
Ingrid Bond Band Paraprofessionalibond@manistee.org
 Nina Bromley Paraprofessional nbromley@manistee.org
Kristen MezeskeOne to One Paraprofessionalkmezeske@manistee.org
Cindy SheathelmOne to One Paraprofessionalcsheathelm@manistee.org
Sarah WallettOne to One Paraprofessionalswallett@manistee.org
 Jennifer Williams MS Activities Director jwilliams@manistee.org
 MMHS School Custodial
Lori HansenCustodianlhansen@manistee.org
Dan Lloyd Head / Day Custodian dlloyd@manistee.org
James Kropacek Evening Custodian jkropacek@manistee.org
Mark Thrailkill Evening Custodian mthrailkill@manistee.org
Nutrition Service
 Keri CarlsonNutrition Service Director kcarlson@manistee.org
Stacy ApplegarthNutrition Servicebapplegarth@manistee.org
Melissa GutowskiNutrition Servicemgutowski@manistee.org
 Kendra MikolajczakNutrition Service kmikolajczak@manistee.org
Ray SummersNutrition Servicersummers@manistee.org
 Linda WandrychNutrition Service lwandrych@manistee.org
Facilities
Don Olkdolk@manistee.org
Jeff Bowermanjbowerman@manistee.org
Paine Aquatic Center
Corey VanFleetcvanfleet@manistee.org

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at MMHS

Our goal at Manistee Middle/High School is to provide the utmost in educational opportunities for our students – utilizing both our state-of-the-art facilities and outstanding staff. Whether leading a host of challenging classes or providing support systems to meet the needs of every student, we strive to do it the Chippewa way – the right way – every day. We look forward to another great year of traditions in academic excellence and exciting activities!  Our commitment to exceeding expectations continues to make Manistee Area Public Schools the district of choice.

Chips Lead!

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips are reliable, honest, and dependable

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips are considerate of the beliefs and opinions of others

A | ACCEPTING — Chips welcome diversity without judgment

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work together towards common goals

K | KIND — Chips are thoughtful, helpful, and appreciative


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.

Academic Opportunities
  • One-to-One Device District
  • Designated Apple School
  • National Honor Society
  • Honors & Advanced Placement Courses
  • Tutoring
  • Community Job Shadowing & Mentorships
  • WSCC Career Training Opportunities
  • Advanced Placement Classes
  • Dual Enrollment
  • Forensics
  • Science Olympiad
  • Quiz Bowl
  • Adventure Learning – Overnight Field Trips
  • Personal Challenge Program
  • Peer Listening/Mentoring
  • Math Counts Competition
Extracurricular Activities
  • JV & Varsity Sports
  • Choir
  • Marching Band
  • Jazz Band
  • Gender & Sexuality Alliance
  • Theater Productions
  • Dance
  • Powerlifting
  • School Dances
  • Homecoming
  • Winter White Out
  • Youth in Government
  • Cheerleading
  • Swimming Pool
  • Foreign Language Clubs & Trips
  • Social Clubs
Parent Involvement

Become a partner in your student’s education!

The first place you’ll notice our commitment to excellence is right here on our outstanding web page. Please review our MMHS Resources page for tools to support you as a partner in your student’s education. You will also want to make sure you have set up an account for PowerSchool.  This interactive tool lets you see what and how your student is doing in every single class, and is a quick and easy way to communicate with all teachers. For graduation requirements, academic information, building and athletic policies and more visit our MMHS Handbook page to review Student Handbook. Information.

For a look at our seasonal sports schedule, click on the Activities tab on the top.  Also, make sure you refer to our Announcements tab at the top of the page.

We would also like to remind both students and parents of our student email accounts.  You can expect the office and other MHS groups to increasingly send information using these accounts. Students may check their accounts utilizing the school network, clicking on the link on the MMHS Resources page.

Finally, be sure to check out one of our favorites – our Featured Alumni link located in the Alumni tab above.  Here you’ll see stories of past students who help to generate our Chippewa Pride every day. We continue to be proud of the great things our students achieve beyond MHS.  If you know of an alumni who should have his or her story told, please e-mail us at ahuber@manistee.org or jtraviss@manistee.org.