Manistee Middle + High School

Grades: 6-12 | Manistee Area Public Schools

MIDDLE+HIGH QUICK LINKS  |  Handbook : Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources : Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Manistee Middle/High School!

By making positive choices, striving toward personal goals, and supporting each other, we all make a difference in the world around us. We inspire each other to dream more, learn more and do more.

We are equipped with the knowledge and values necessary to become productive and successful citizens of our world. With respect, dedication, and integrity, we work as a community to reach our highest potential.

Chips Lead!

MMHS Announcements

19th Annual 350 Club Spring Dinner

The 19th annual 350 Club Spring Dinner Hall of Fame Ceremony and Silent Auction will take place on Saturday, April 6, 2019 at 5:30pm at the Manistee VFW. Click on "read more" for the flyer and registration form. 19th Annual Chippewas 350 Club Spring Dinner Flyer...

read more

2019 State Swim Meet Results

Prelim Results from the 2019 MHSAA D3 Swimming & Diving Championships:-28th in the 200 Medley Relay (Eric Vilardell, Zach Lee, Sebastian Larsen, Caden Schmutzler)-24th in the 50 Freestyle (Caden Schmutzler)-26th in the 100 Freestyle (Caden Schmutzler)-19th in the...

read more

Your MMHS Team


Location: 525 Twelfth Street, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: 231-723-2547
Fax: 231-398-9277
School Office Hours: M-F: 7:30am – 4pm


Administrative Team

Principal: Andy Huber – ahuber@manistee.org    

Assistant Principal: Jason Traviss – jtraviss@manistee.org

Secretary: Denise Slonecki – dslonecki@manistee.org

Guidance Counselor: Paul Howes – phowes@manistee.org

Guidance Secretary: Penny Kiss – pkiss@manistee.org

View MMHS Staff
MMHS Staff  
 
 Name Title / Grade / Content Area Email
 Administrative Staff 
 Andy Huber HS/MS Principal ahuber@manistee.org
 Jason Traviss HS/MS Assistant Principal jtraviss@manistee.org
 Denise Slonecki Administrative Assistant dslonecki@manistee.org
 Guidance 
 Paul Howes Guidance Counselor phowes@manistee.org
 Penny Kiss Guidance Secretary pkiss@manistee.org
 Todd Garber Student Recovery Classroom tgarber@manistee.org
 Karen Sundbeck Student Recovery Classroom ksundbeck@manistee.org
 Kelsey Rhodes MCAN College Adviser / Credit Recovery Coordinator krhodes@manistee.org
  Activities  
 Matt Kieffer Athletic Director mkieffer@manistee.org
 Beth Forbes Activities Secretary bforbes@manistee.org
  District Technology 
 Kenneth Blakey-Shell District Technology Director kblakeyshell@manistee.org
 Gabe Delgado Elementary Device Supportgdelgado@manistee.org
Matt Froncek Apple Certified Technician mfroncek@manistee.org
David Gagstetter Data & Device Systemsdgagstetter@manistee.org
 SafeNet 
Sonya Broadbent sbroadbent@manistee.org
  MMHS School Instructional Staff 
 Stacey Andrews-RamseySpanish / Social Sciencesandrews@manistee.org
 Gregg BennettSocial Sciencegbennett@manistee.org
 Dan Burns Language Arts dburns@manistee.org
 Troy Bytwork Social Science tbytwork@manistee.org
 Amanda Clemons English aclemons@manistee.org
 Amanda Feyen Choir afeyen@manistee.org
 Joe Hendges Social Science jhendges@manistee.org
 Marcy Huber Math mhuber@manistee.org
 Kristen Johnson Special Education kjohnson@manistee.org
 Sam Joseph Language Arts sjoseph@manistee.org
 Connie Josvai Language Arts cjosvai@manistee.org
 Monte Klein Art mklein@manistee.org
 Brooke Koller Special Education bkoller@manistee.org
 Michelle LaPrad Science mlaprad@manistee.org
 Andrea Mack Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org
 Chelsea Matley PE/Health cmatley@manistee.org
 Cassie Miller PE/Health cmmiller@manistee.org
 Troy Nezki Math tnezki@manistee.org
 Morgan Nowicki Language Arts mnowicki@manistee.org
 Ryan O'Donnell Science rodonnell@manistee.org
 Wendy Orton Family & Consumer Science, Special Education worton@manistee.org
 Matt Phillips Science mphillips@manistee.org
 Kevin Postma Science kpostma@manistee.org
 Dan Saylor Social Sciencedsaylor@manistee.org
 Polly Schlaff Spanish / ELA pschlaff@manistee.org
 Joel Smith Social Studies smithj@manistee.org
 Kathy Smith Math ksmith@manistee.org
 Hannah Starmann Language Arts hstarmann@manistee.org
 Michael Swanson Math mswanson@manistee.org
 Eric Thuemmel Math ethuemmel@manistee.org
 Michael Tilmann II PE/Health mtilmann@manistee.org
 Brian Veine Video/Math bveine@manistee.org
 Bridget Warnke Science bdontz@manistee.org
 Amy Watkins Math awatkins@manistee.org
 Sara Workman Special Education sworkman@manistee.org
 Nicholas Zacek Language Arts nzacek@manistee.org
Devin SchweigertLt Sub 7th Grade Sciencedschweigert@manistee.org
   
Paraprofessionals
Ingrid Bond Band Paraprofessionalibond@manistee.org
 Nina Bromley Paraprofessional nbromley@manistee.org
Kristen MezeskeOne to One Paraprofessionalkmezeske@manistee.org
Cindy SheathelmOne to One Paraprofessionalcsheathelm@manistee.org
Sarah WallettOne to One Paraprofessionalswallett@manistee.org
 Jennifer Williams MS Activities Director jwilliams@manistee.org
   
 MMHS School Custodial
Don FroncekCustodiandfroncek@manistee.org
Dan Lloyd Head / Day Custodian dlloyd@manistee.org
James Kropacek Evening Custodian jkropacek@manistee.org
Mark Thrailkill Evening Custodian mthrailkill@manistee.org
   
Nutrition Service
 Keri CarlsonNutrition Service Director kcarlson@manistee.org
Stacy ApplegarthNutrition Servicebapplegarth@manistee.org
Melissa GutkowskiNutrition Servicemgutkowski@manistee.org
 Kendra MikolajczakNutrition Service kmikolajczak@manistee.org
Melissa ThomasNutrition Servicemthomas@manistee.org
Ray SummersNutrition Servicersummers@manistee.org
 Linda WandrychNutrition Service lwandrych@manistee.org
 Facilities 
Don Olk dolk@manistee.org
Jeff Bowerman jbowerman@manistee.org
 Paine Aquatic Center 
Corey VanFleet cvanfleet@manistee.org
   
   

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at MMHS

Our goal at Manistee Middle/High School is to provide the utmost in educational opportunities for our students – utilizing both our state-of-the-art facilities and outstanding staff. Whether leading a host of challenging classes or providing support systems to meet the needs of every student, we strive to do it the Chippewa way – the right way – every day. We look forward to another great year of traditions in academic excellence and exciting activities!  Our commitment to exceeding expectations continues to make Manistee Area Public Schools the district of choice.

Chips Lead!

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips are reliable, honest, and dependable

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips are considerate of the beliefs and opinions of others

A | ACCEPTING — Chips welcome diversity without judgment

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work together towards common goals

K | KIND — Chips are thoughtful, helpful, and appreciative


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.

Academic Opportunities
  • One-to-One Device District
  • Designated Apple School
  • National Honor Society
  • Honors & Advanced Placement Courses
  • Tutoring
  • Community Job Shadowing & Mentorships
  • WSCC Career Training Opportunities
  • Advanced Placement Classes
  • Dual Enrollment
  • Forensics
  • Science Olympiad
  • Quiz Bowl
  • Adventure Learning – Overnight Field Trips
  • Personal Challenge Program
  • Peer Listening/Mentoring
  • Math Counts Competition
Extracurricular Activities
  • JV & Varsity Sports
  • Choir
  • Marching Band
  • Jazz Band
  • Gender & Sexuality Alliance
  • Theater Productions
  • Dance
  • Powerlifting
  • School Dances
  • Homecoming
  • Winter White Out
  • Youth in Government
  • Cheerleading
  • Swimming Pool
  • Foreign Language Clubs & Trips
  • Social Clubs
Parent Involvement

Become a partner in your student’s education!

The first place you’ll notice our commitment to excellence is right here on our outstanding web page. Please review our MMHS Resources page for tools to support you as a partner in your student’s education. You will also want to make sure you have set up an account for PowerSchool.  This interactive tool lets you see what and how your student is doing in every single class, and is a quick and easy way to communicate with all teachers. For graduation requirements, academic information, building and athletic policies and more visit our MMHS Handbook page to review Student Handbook. Information.

For a look at our seasonal sports schedule, click on the Activities tab on the top.  Also, make sure you refer to our Announcements tab at the top of the page.

We would also like to remind both students and parents of our student email accounts.  You can expect the office and other MHS groups to increasingly send information using these accounts. Students may check their accounts utilizing the school network, clicking on the link on the MMHS Resources page.

Finally, be sure to check out one of our favorites – our Featured Alumni link located in the Alumni tab above.  Here you’ll see stories of past students who help to generate our Chippewa Pride every day. We continue to be proud of the great things our students achieve beyond MHS.  If you know of an alumni who should have his or her story told, please e-mail us at ahuber@manistee.org or jtraviss@manistee.org.