Manistee Middle + High School

Grades: 6-12 | Manistee Area Public Schools

MIDDLE+HIGH QUICK LINKS  | Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources : Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Manistee Middle/High School!

Please Note: The indoor walking track is closed at this time. The outdoor track may be used for recreational walking after school hours.

By making positive choices, striving toward personal goals, and supporting each other, we all make a difference in the world around us. We inspire each other to dream more, learn more and do more.

We are equipped with the knowledge and values necessary to become productive and successful citizens of our world. With respect, dedication, and integrity, we work as a community to reach our highest potential.

Chips Lead!

COVID-19 NOTIFICATION

In an effort to keep our MAPS community informed, below we are providing notification regarding any COVID-19 concerns related to our District.

 

Food Service Program

With support from the United States Department of Agriculture and Michigan Department of Education, Manistee Area Public Schools is grateful to be able to extend free meals for all children 18 and younger, and students with disabilities up to 26 years of age, in our Manistee community through the summer of 2021.  Once funding is no longer available, our Food Service Department will return to the National School Lunch Program parameters for public school food service.

MAPS will be serving all in-person learners free breakfast and lunch every school day at each building in the district.  We will also be offering free Grab & Go meals Mondays and Thursdays at Manistee Middle High School at MMHS at 525 Twelfth Street from 9 am to 10 am.  This food service program is available to all MAPS online learners in addition to any Manistee community families with children 18 & younger and students with disabilities up to 26 years of age.

Grab & Go Food Service program details:

  • Grab & Go meal service will offer breakfast and lunch meals distributed Mondays and Thursdays from 9 am to 10 am each week.
  • Curbside pick-up will be available at the MMHS main entrance drive at the student drop off area.
  • Meals provided on Monday will be breakfast & lunch for 3 days.
  • Meals provided on Thursday will be breakfast & lunch for 4 days to provide meals through the weekends.
  • Families of in-person learners are also able to pick up 2 breakfast and 2 lunch meals for their students on Thursdays to provide food through the weekend, following the same pick up instructions above.
  • If a holiday, snow day or school day scheduled to be off occurs on a Monday, the meal pick up will be Tuesday.
  • If a holiday or school day scheduled to be off occurs on a Thursday, the meal pick up will be Wednesday.  (Example Thanksgiving)
  • If a snow day, or other closure, occurs on Thursday meal pick up will be Friday.

Summer School Students
We will be serving meals to all students attending summer school within the building.  Only summer school students can be served indoors at this time.  The district will reevaluate early July, whether we can open to the public for daily service inside.

Students attending summer school can also request meals to be taken home for the weekends. Please make your request with one of our Nutrition Services team members or send an email to kcarlson@manistee.org to place an order for a Thursday meal pick-up after class.

We are grateful for the ability to continue providing this important service for the children of our community through the funding support of Federal and State agencies.

MMHS Announcements

2020-2021 HS & MS Yearbook Updates

The 2020-2021 MIDDLE SCHOOL yearbook will be printed and mailed home to MS students in mid-July this year due to COVID and shipping delays. The MS book will be mailed from MMHS via USPS to the address on file at MMHS for all student purchasers unless you request a...

read more

7th-11th Grade Laptop Returns

MMHS Students, Congrats on making it through the school year! Next week you will need to turn in your laptop for the summer so here is some info on that. *Turn in:* Make sure you have all the parts when you turn them in (more info on that below). - Laptop or iPad -...

read more

Sixth Grade iPad Returns

6th Grade Students, Congrats on making it through the school year! Next week you will need to turn in your iPad for the summer so here is some info on that. *Turn in:* Make sure you have all the parts when you turn them in (more info on that below). - iPad - Charger -...

read more

Your MMHS Team


Location: 525 Twelfth Street, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: 231-723-2547
Fax: 231-398-9277
School Office Hours: M-Th: 7:30am – 4pm, Friday 7:30am – 3pm


Administrative Team

Principal: Andy Huber – ahuber@manistee.org    

Assistant Principal: Ken Kott – kkott@manistee.org

Assistant Principal / Athletic Director: Kevin Schmutzler – kschmutzler@manistee.org

Secretary: Denise Slonecki – dslonecki@manistee.org

Guidance Counselor: Paul Howes – phowes@manistee.org

Guidance Secretary: Penny Kiss – pkiss@manistee.org

View MMHS Staff
MMHS Staff  
 
 Name Title / Grade / Content Area Email
 Administrative Staff 
 Andy Huber HS/MS Principal ahuber@manistee.org
 Kenn Kott Assistant Principal kkott@manistee.org
 Kevin Schmutzler Assistant Principal / Athletic Director kschmutzler@manistee.org
 Matt Kieffer Student Support mkieffer@manistee.org
 Denise Slonecki Administrative Assistant dslonecki@manistee.org
 Kasandra Johnson Administrative Assistant kkjohnson@manistee.org
 Guidance 
 Paul Howes Guidance Counselor phowes@manistee.org
 Penny Kiss Guidance Administrative Assistant / Registrar pkiss@manistee.org
 Todd Garber Student Recovery Classroom tgarber@manistee.org
 Karen Sundbeck Student Recovery Classroom ksundbeck@manistee.org
 Kelsey Rhodes MCAN College Adviser / Credit Recovery Coordinator krhodes@manistee.org
  Activities 
 Kevin Schmutzler Athletic Director / Assistant Principalkschmutzler@manistee.org
 Beth Forbes Activities Secretary bforbes@manistee.org
  District Technology 
 Kenneth Blakey-Shell District Technology Director kblakeyshell@manistee.org
 Gabe Delgado Elementary Device Supportgdelgado@manistee.org
Matt Froncek Apple Certified Technician mfroncek@manistee.org
David Gagstetter Data & Device Systemsdgagstetter@manistee.org
   
   
  MMHS School Instructional Staff 
 Stacey Andrews-RamseySpanishsandrews@manistee.org
 Gregg BennettSocial Sciencegbennett@manistee.org
 Dan Burns Language Arts dburns@manistee.org
 Troy Bytwork Social Science tbytwork@manistee.org
 Amanda Clemons English aclemons@manistee.org
 Rachel Edmondson Language Artsreedmondson@manistee.org
 Cindy Erdman Special Education cerdman@manistee.org
 Amanda Feyen Choir afeyen@manistee.org
 Joe Hendges Social Science jhendges@manistee.org
 Marcy Huber Math mhuber@manistee.org
 Kristen Johnson Special Education kjohnson@manistee.org
 Sam Joseph Language Arts sjoseph@manistee.org
 Monte Klein Art mklein@manistee.org
 Brooke Koller Special Education bkoller@manistee.org
 Michelle LaPrad Science mlaprad@manistee.org
 Andrea Mack Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org
 Chelsea Matley PE/Health cmatley@manistee.org
 Cassie Miller PE/Health cmmiller@manistee.org
 Troy Nezki Math tnezki@manistee.org
 Morgan Nowicki Language Arts mnowicki@manistee.org
 Cheryl O'Connor Social Studies coconnor@manistee.org
 Ryan O'Donnell Science rodonnell@manistee.org
 Wendy Orton Family & Consumer Science, Special Education worton@manistee.org
 Matt Phillips Science mphillips@manistee.org
 Kevin Postma Science kpostma@manistee.org
 Tobia Purple Special Education tpurple@manistee.org
 Dan Saylor Social Sciencedsaylor@manistee.org
 Polly Schlaff Language Arts pschlaff@manistee.org
 Devin Schweigert Sciencedschweigert@manistee.org
Whitney Simic-Finch Math wsimicfinch@manistee.org
 Joel Smith Social Studies smithj@manistee.org
 Kathy Smith Math ksmith@manistee.org
 Hannah Starmann Language Arts hstarmann@manistee.org
 Eric Thuemmel Math ethuemmel@manistee.org
 Michael Tilmann II PE/Health mtilmann@manistee.org
 Bridget Warnke Science bdontz@manistee.org
 Amy Watkins Math awatkins@manistee.org
 Sara Workman Special Education sworkman@manistee.org
 Safenet 
 Sonya BroadbentSafenet sbroadbent@manistee.org
   
Paraprofessionals
Ingrid Bond Band Paraprofessionalibond@manistee.org
 Nina Bromley Paraprofessional nbromley@manistee.org
Kristen MezeskeOne to One Paraprofessionalkmezeske@manistee.org
Cindy SheathelmOne to One Paraprofessionalcsheathelm@manistee.org
 Robert Von Herbruck Paraprofessional rvonherbruck@manistee.org
 Jennifer Williams MS Activities Director jwilliams@manistee.org
   
 MMHS School Custodial
Lori HansenCustodianlhansen@manistee.org
James Kropacek Custodian jkropacek@manistee.org
Dan Lloyd Custodian dlloyd@manistee.org
Steve Sciba Custodian ssciba@manistee.org
Mark Thrailkill Custodian mthrailkill@manistee.org
   
Nutrition Service
 Keri CarlsonNutrition Service Director kcarlson@manistee.org
Stacy ApplegarthNutrition Servicebapplegarth@manistee.org
Courtney GibbsNutrition Servicecgibbs@manistee.org
Melissa GutowskiNutrition Servicemgutowski@manistee.org
 Kendra MikolajczakNutrition Service kmikolajczak@manistee.org
 Terri MorskiNutrition Service tmorski@manistee.org
 Richard KoonNutrition Service rkoon@manistee.org
 Tiffany RemkesNutrition Service tremkes@manistee.org
 Linda WandrychNutrition Service lwandrych@manistee.org
 Facilities 
Don Olk dolk@manistee.org
Jeff Bowerman jbowerman@manistee.org
 Paine Aquatic Center 
Corey VanFleet cvanfleet@manistee.org
   
   

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at MMHS

Our goal at Manistee Middle/High School is to provide the utmost in educational opportunities for our students – utilizing both our state-of-the-art facilities and outstanding staff. Whether leading a host of challenging classes or providing support systems to meet the needs of every student, we strive to do it the Chippewa way – the right way – every day. We look forward to another great year of traditions in academic excellence and exciting activities!  Our commitment to exceeding expectations continues to make Manistee Area Public Schools the district of choice.

Chips Lead!

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips are reliable, honest, and dependable

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips are considerate of the beliefs and opinions of others

A | ACCEPTING — Chips welcome diversity without judgment

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work together towards common goals

K | KIND — Chips are thoughtful, helpful, and appreciative


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.