Manistee Middle + High School

Grades: 6-12 | Manistee Area Public Schools

MIDDLE+HIGH QUICK LINKS  | Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources : Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Manistee Middle/High School!

Please Note: The indoor walking track is closed at this time. The outdoor track may be used for recreational walking after school hours.

By making positive choices, striving toward personal goals, and supporting each other, we all make a difference in the world around us. We inspire each other to dream more, learn more and do more.

We are equipped with the knowledge and values necessary to become productive and successful citizens of our world. With respect, dedication, and integrity, we work as a community to reach our highest potential.

Chips Lead!

COVID-19 NOTIFICATION

In an effort to keep our MAPS community informed, below we are providing notification regarding any COVID-19 concerns related to our District.

 

Food Service Program

2021/22 School Year

MAPS will following the USDA National School Lunch Seamless Summer Option, which allows us to offer all students free breakfast and lunch for the entire school year..

Our Grab & Go program has been changed under the USDA Seamless Summer Option, as of the first day of school (Aug. 31st) This means:

  • All students attending school, within our buildings, who are offered meals at school CANNOT have families pick up meals through the Grab & Go line. Those students will all be fed at school.  Any student following required quarantine protocols can use the Grab & Go service.
  • If students are virtual learners, home schoolers, or any other children within the Manistee community not attending school they are still eligible to participate in the Grab & Go program.
  • We will offer pick up of a 5-day breakfast & lunch pack on Mondays between 9am-10am at MMHS in the drop-off lane.
  • Grab & Go meals are no longer able to be offered for weekends or holidays. They can only be provided for those days that school is in session.
  • Accountability is required, student names will be recorded when families are picking up Grab & Go meals to verify those students are not in attendance at our buildings.
  • If a holiday, snow day or school day scheduled to be off occurs on a Monday, the meal pick up will be Tuesday.

We ask that all families complete the free/reduced applications for this school year even though we are feeding all children for free, link below.  This will allow for student meal accounting for the program. This information will be used by the Michigan Department of Health & Human Services for future PEBT distributions and to account for student benefits for the 22/23 school year.  Student benefits will follow them for the first 30 days of the next school year (22/23), to allow families time to complete another free/reduced application without loss of benefits.

Student Nutrition Program Application

 

MMHS Announcements

Score Board Operators and Announcers Needed @ MMHS

MMHS Athletics is in need of individuals interested in operating a score board and announcing for athletic contests. All training is provided, and you get paid to have the best seat in the house! Availability for the fall (volleyball) and winter (basketball,...

read more

Girls Golf Results at Tulleymore

On Monday, the lady Chippewas competed at the Lady Tulleymore Invitational hosted by Big Rapids. Tulleymore has been named one of the top 100 courses in the United States. The course is beautiful and it was a great opportunity for the girls to keep preparing for the...

read more

MMS Football Defeats Muskegon Heights

The Middle School Football team traveled to Muskegon Hts yesterday afternoon and jumped out to a 37-0 halftime lead and would go on to win by that same margin. There were excellent performances by many players including Chaos Davis, Ean Guendhardt, Braylon Zimmerman,...

read more

Your MMHS Team


Location: 525 Twelfth Street, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: 231-723-2547
Fax: 231-398-9277
Attendance Hotline: 231-398-3625
School Office Hours: M-Th: 7:30am – 4pm, Friday 7:30am – 3:30pm


Administrative Team

Principal/Interim Athletic Director: Andy Huber – ahuber@manistee.org    

Assistant Principal: Ken Kott – kkott@manistee.org

Assistant Principal: Morgan Nowicki – mnowicki@manistee.org

Secretary: Denise Slonecki – dslonecki@manistee.org

Guidance Counselor: Paul Howes – phowes@manistee.org

Guidance Secretary: Penny Kiss – pkiss@manistee.org

Assistant Athletic Director: Beth Forbes – bforbes@manistee.org

View MMHS Staff
MMHS Staff  
 
 Name Title / Grade / Content Area Email
 Administrative Staff 
 Andy Huber HS/MS Principal/Interim Athletic Director ahuber@manistee.org
 Kenn Kott Assistant Principal kkott@manistee.org
 Morgan Nowicki Assistant Principal mnowicki@manistee.org
 Matt Kieffer Student Support mkieffer@manistee.org
 Denise SloneckiAdministrative Assistant dslonecki@manistee.org
 Kasandra Johnson Administrative Assistant kkjohnson@manistee.org
   
 Guidance 
 Paul Howes Guidance Counselor phowes@manistee.org
 Penny Kiss Guidance Administrative Assistant / Registrar pkiss@manistee.org
 Todd Garber Student Recovery Classroom tgarber@manistee.org
 Karen Sundbeck Student Recovery Classroom ksundbeck@manistee.org
   
  Activities 
 Andy Huber Interim Athletic Director ahuber@manistee.org
 Beth Forbes Activities Secretary/Assistant Athletic Director bforbes@manistee.org
  District Technology 
 Kenneth Blakey-Shell District Technology Director kblakeyshell@manistee.org
 Gabe Delgado Elementary Device Supportgdelgado@manistee.org
Matt Froncek Apple Certified Technician mfroncek@manistee.org
David Gagstetter Data & Device Systemsdgagstetter@manistee.org
   
   
  MMHS School Instructional Staff 
 Stacey Andrews-RamseySpanishsandrews@manistee.org
 Gregg BennettSocial Sciencegbennett@manistee.org
 Dan Burns Language Arts dburns@manistee.org
 Troy Bytwork Social Science tbytwork@manistee.org
 Amanda Clemons English aclemons@manistee.org
 Rachel Edmondson Language Artsreedmondson@manistee.org
 Cindy Erdman Special Education cerdman@manistee.org
 Amanda Feyen Choir afeyen@manistee.org
 Joe Hendges Social Science jhendges@manistee.org
 Marcy Huber Math mhuber@manistee.org
 Kristen Johnson Special Education kjohnson@manistee.org
 Sam Joseph Language Arts sjoseph@manistee.org
 Brooke Koller Special Education bkoller@manistee.org
 Michelle LaPrad Science mlaprad@manistee.org
 Andrea Mack Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org
 Chelsea Matley PE/Health cmatley@manistee.org
 Cassie Miller PE/Health cmmiller@manistee.org
 Troy Nezki Math tnezki@manistee.org
 Cheryl O'Connor Social Studies coconnor@manistee.org
 Ryan O'Donnell Science rodonnell@manistee.org
 Mary Olson Science molson@manistee.org
 Kevin Postma Science kpostma@manistee.org
 Amber Puchtel Art apuchtel@manistee.org
 Tobia Purple Special Education tpurple@manistee.org
 Dan Saylor Social Sciencedsaylor@manistee.org
 Polly Schlaff Language Arts pschlaff@manistee.org
 Devin Schweigert Sciencedschweigert@manistee.org
Whitney Simic-Finch Math wsimicfinch@manistee.org
 Joel Smith Social Studies smithj@manistee.org
 Kathy Smith Math ksmith@manistee.org
 Maria Solberg Language Arts msolberg@manistee.org
 Hannah Starmann Language Arts hstarmann@manistee.org
 Eric Thuemmel Math ethuemmel@manistee.org
 Michael Tilmann II PE/Health mtilmann@manistee.org
 Bridget Warnke Science bdontz@manistee.org
 Amy Watkins Math awatkins@manistee.org
 Sara Workman Special Education sworkman@manistee.org
 Safenet 
 Sonya BroadbentSafenet sbroadbent@manistee.org
   
Paraprofessionals
Ingrid Bond Band Paraprofessionalibond@manistee.org
 Logan Bond Paraprofessionallbond@manistee.org
Kristen MezeskeOne to One Paraprofessionalkmezeske@manistee.org
Cindy SheathelmOne to One Paraprofessionalcsheathelm@manistee.org
 Robert Von Herbruck Paraprofessional rvonherbruck@manistee.org
 Jennifer Williams MS Activities Director jwilliams@manistee.org
   
 MMHS School Custodial
Lori HansenCustodianlhansen@manistee.org
James Kropacek Custodian jkropacek@manistee.org
Dan Lloyd Custodian dlloyd@manistee.org
Steve Sciba Custodian ssciba@manistee.org
   
Nutrition Service
 Keri CarlsonNutrition Service Director kcarlson@manistee.org
Stacy ApplegarthNutrition Servicebapplegarth@manistee.org
Courtney GibbsNutrition Servicecgibbs@manistee.org
Melissa GutowskiNutrition Servicemgutowski@manistee.org
 Kendra MikolajczakNutrition Service kmikolajczak@manistee.org
 Terri MorskiNutrition Service tmorski@manistee.org
 Richard KoonNutrition Service rkoon@manistee.org
 Tiffany RemkesNutrition Service tremkes@manistee.org
 Linda WandrychNutrition Service lwandrych@manistee.org
 Facilities 
Don Olk dolk@manistee.org
Jeff Bowerman jbowerman@manistee.org
Douglas MonteyConsultantdmontey@manistee.org
 Paine Aquatic Center 
Corey VanFleet cvanfleet@manistee.org
   
   

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at MMHS

Our goal at Manistee Middle/High School is to provide the utmost in educational opportunities for our students – utilizing both our state-of-the-art facilities and outstanding staff. Whether leading a host of challenging classes or providing support systems to meet the needs of every student, we strive to do it the Chippewa way – the right way – every day. We look forward to another great year of traditions in academic excellence and exciting activities!  Our commitment to exceeding expectations continues to make Manistee Area Public Schools the district of choice.

Chips Lead!

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips are reliable, honest, and dependable

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips are considerate of the beliefs and opinions of others

A | ACCEPTING — Chips welcome diversity without judgment

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work together towards common goals

K | KIND — Chips are thoughtful, helpful, and appreciative


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.