Manistee Middle + High School

Grades: 6-12 | Manistee Area Public Schools

MIDDLE+HIGH QUICK LINKS  |  Handbook : Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources : Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Manistee Middle/High School!

MMHS Summer Building Hours: 10am-4pm Mon-Thursday

All District buildings remain closed based upon statewide directive for school closure. Building entry remains restricted to those designated as essential workers.  

Some outdoor activities, coaching, athletic practices, and aquatic center use can resume on a limited basis following strict guidelines. More information about these activities can be found on our Athletics page and the Paine Aquatic Center page of this website.  

All other closure directives will be in place until the state order for school districts has been adapted.

We continue to stay informed about parameters for fall planning and will continue to update you as more details become available, please watch your email and this website for updates.

In an effort to help our student and families, we have created a resources page that will be regularly updated with information and links to assist in many ways. Click the Family Resource button below.

By making positive choices, striving toward personal goals, and supporting each other, we all make a difference in the world around us. We inspire each other to dream more, learn more and do more.

We are equipped with the knowledge and values necessary to become productive and successful citizens of our world. With respect, dedication, and integrity, we work as a community to reach our highest potential.

Chips Lead!

Welcome 6th Graders!

This year we are unable to do our traditional Move Up Day activity for the 5th graders moving up to 6th grade at Manistee Middle High School.  So we wanted to do the next best thing and take you there virtually! Our 6th grade staff welcome you to MMHS for the 2020/21 school year in the video below.

IPad & Laptop Returns

All district issued iPads and laptops will need to be returned between June 8 and June 12 to Manistee Middle High School at 525 12th Street between the hours of 9:00 am to 11:00 am & 3:00 pm to 6:00 pm each day that week.  Please pull up outside of the east entrance to the Paine Aquatic Center and stay in your vehicle.  A staff member will approach your vehicle to retrieve your device(s) and record your name.

If you are unable to drop off the device during the specified time, please call and leave a message at 231-398-3669. MAPS staff will respond and find a solution for getting the device.  If we do not hear from you and the device is not returned by June 12, the student will be assessed a fee of $5/day; after three weeks, missing equipment may be referred to the police as stolen.

Summer Food Service Program

Michigan Department of Education Office of School Support Services

Manistee Area Public Schools announce the sponsorship of the Summer Food Service Program for children. Free meals will be made available to children 18 years of age and under or persons up to age 26 who are enrolled in an educational program for the mentally or physically disabled that is recognized by a State or local public educational agency. The meals will be provided without regard to race, color, national origin, age, sex, or disability, and there will be no discrimination in the course of the meal service. Meals will be provided at the site(s) listed below:

Manistee High School
525 Twelfth St.
Manistee, MI  49660

Breakfast & Lunch Monday-Thursday (On Thursday we will have available Breakfast & Lunch for Friday, Saturday & Sunday too!)

July 1 through Aug. 16 (11:00am-12:00pm)

Please pull through the Student Drop off area, stay in your vehicle and we will bring the number of meals needed to you! Grab & Go style!!

************************************************************************

Non-discrimination Statement: In accordance with Federal civil rights law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights regulations and policies, the USDA, its Agencies, offices, and employees, and institutions participating in or administering USDA programs are prohibited from discriminating based on race, color, national origin, sex, disability, age, or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity in any program or activity conducted or funded by USDA.

Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication for program information (e.g. Braille, large print, audiotape, American Sign Language, etc.), should contact the Agency (State or local) where they applied for benefits. Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing, or have speech disabilities may contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339. Additionally, program information may be made available in languages other than English.

To file a program complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form, (AD-3027) found online at: http://www.ascr.usda.gov/complaint_filing_cust.html, and at any USDA office, or write a letter addressed to USDA and provide in the letter all of the information requested in the form. To request a copy of the complaint form, call (866) 632-9992. Submit your completed form or letter to USDA by: mail: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, D.C. 20250-9410; fax: (202) 690-7442; or email: program.intake@usda.gov.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.  ********************************************

 

 

Based on recommendations from the Student Safety Advisor Council (SSAC), administration and you, the parents, we are making changes to the parking, student pick-up/drop-off and bus loops for the 2019/20 school year. The diagram here illustrates the creation of our new pick-up/drop-off zones, visitor parking, student/general parking and bus area. Please contact us with any questions you may have.

MMHS Announcements

MMHS Cleaning Protocols Update

The following is an update about cleaning at MMHS during flu season.  Our current protocols for custodial crew are to:sanitize all classroom desk/table surfaces nightlysanitize all commons tables after breakfast and lunchprovide sanitizing wipes for the library,...

read more

Your MMHS Team


Location: 525 Twelfth Street, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: 231-723-2547
Fax: 231-398-9277
School Office Hours: M-F: 7:30am – 4pm


Administrative Team

Principal: Andy Huber – ahuber@manistee.org    

Assistant Principal: Ken Kott – kkott@manistee.org

Secretary: Denise Slonecki – dslonecki@manistee.org

Guidance Counselor: Paul Howes – phowes@manistee.org

Guidance Secretary: Penny Kiss – pkiss@manistee.org

View MMHS Staff
MMHS Staff  
 
 Name Title / Grade / Content Area Email
 Administrative Staff 
 Andy Huber HS/MS Principal ahuber@manistee.org
 Kenn Kott HS/MS Assistant Principal kkott@manistee.org
 Denise Slonecki Administrative Assistant dslonecki@manistee.org
 Kasandra Johnson Administrative Assistant kkjohnson@manistee.org
 Guidance 
 Paul Howes Guidance Counselor phowes@manistee.org
 Penny Kiss Guidance Secretary pkiss@manistee.org
 Todd Garber Student Recovery Classroom tgarber@manistee.org
 Karen Sundbeck Student Recovery Classroom ksundbeck@manistee.org
 Kelsey Rhodes MCAN College Adviser / Credit Recovery Coordinator krhodes@manistee.org
  Activities 
 Matt Kieffer Athletic Director mkieffer@manistee.org
 Beth Forbes Activities Secretary bforbes@manistee.org
  District Technology 
 Kenneth Blakey-Shell District Technology Director kblakeyshell@manistee.org
 Gabe Delgado Elementary Device Supportgdelgado@manistee.org
Matt Froncek Apple Certified Technician mfroncek@manistee.org
David Gagstetter Data & Device Systemsdgagstetter@manistee.org
   
   
  MMHS School Instructional Staff 
 Stacey Andrews-RamseySpanishsandrews@manistee.org
 Gregg BennettSocial Sciencegbennett@manistee.org
 Dan Burns Language Arts dburns@manistee.org
 Troy Bytwork Social Science tbytwork@manistee.org
 Amanda Clemons English aclemons@manistee.org
 Rachel Edmondson Language Artsreedmondson@manistee.org
 Cindy Erdman Special Education cerdman@manistee.org
 Amanda Feyen Choir afeyen@manistee.org
 Joe Hendges Social Science jhendges@manistee.org
 Marcy Huber Math mhuber@manistee.org
 Kristen Johnson Special Education kjohnson@manistee.org
 Sam Joseph Language Arts sjoseph@manistee.org
 Monte Klein Art mklein@manistee.org
 Brooke Koller Special Education bkoller@manistee.org
 Michelle LaPrad Science mlaprad@manistee.org
 Andrea Mack Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org
 Chelsea Matley PE/Health cmatley@manistee.org
 Cassie Miller PE/Health cmmiller@manistee.org
 Troy Nezki Math tnezki@manistee.org
 Morgan Nowicki Language Arts mnowicki@manistee.org
 Cheryl O'Connor Social Studies coconnor@manistee.org
 Ryan O'Donnell Science rodonnell@manistee.org
 Wendy Orton Family & Consumer Science, Special Education worton@manistee.org
 Matt Phillips Science mphillips@manistee.org
 Kevin Postma Science kpostma@manistee.org
 Dan Saylor Social Sciencedsaylor@manistee.org
 Polly Schlaff Language Arts pschlaff@manistee.org
 Devin Schweigert Sciencedschweigert@manistee.org
 Joel Smith Social Studies smithj@manistee.org
 Kathy Smith Math ksmith@manistee.org
 Hannah Starmann Language Arts hstarmann@manistee.org
 Eric Thuemmel Math ethuemmel@manistee.org
 Michael Tilmann II PE/Health mtilmann@manistee.org
 Bridget Warnke Science bdontz@manistee.org
 Amy Watkins Math awatkins@manistee.org
 Sara Workman Special Education sworkman@manistee.org
   
 Krista Bennett Math Coach kbennett@manistee.org
   
Paraprofessionals
Ingrid Bond Band Paraprofessionalibond@manistee.org
 Nina Bromley Paraprofessional nbromley@manistee.org
Kristen MezeskeOne to One Paraprofessionalkmezeske@manistee.org
Cindy SheathelmOne to One Paraprofessionalcsheathelm@manistee.org
Sarah WallettOne to One Paraprofessionalswallett@manistee.org
 Jennifer Williams MS Activities Director jwilliams@manistee.org
   
 MMHS School Custodial
Lori HansenCustodianlhansen@manistee.org
Dan Lloyd Head / Day Custodian dlloyd@manistee.org
James Kropacek Evening Custodian jkropacek@manistee.org
Mark Thrailkill Evening Custodian mthrailkill@manistee.org
   
Nutrition Service
 Keri CarlsonNutrition Service Director kcarlson@manistee.org
Stacy ApplegarthNutrition Servicebapplegarth@manistee.org
Courtney GibbsNutrition Servicecgibbs@manistee.org
Melissa GutowskiNutrition Servicemgutowski@manistee.org
 Kendra MikolajczakNutrition Service kmikolajczak@manistee.org
 Richard KoonNutrition Service rkoon@manistee.org
 Linda WandrychNutrition Service lwandrych@manistee.org
 Facilities 
Don Olk dolk@manistee.org
Jeff Bowerman jbowerman@manistee.org
 Paine Aquatic Center 
Corey VanFleet cvanfleet@manistee.org
   
   

Your Chippewa Journey Continues at MMHS

Our goal at Manistee Middle/High School is to provide the utmost in educational opportunities for our students – utilizing both our state-of-the-art facilities and outstanding staff. Whether leading a host of challenging classes or providing support systems to meet the needs of every student, we strive to do it the Chippewa way – the right way – every day. We look forward to another great year of traditions in academic excellence and exciting activities!  Our commitment to exceeding expectations continues to make Manistee Area Public Schools the district of choice.

Chips Lead!

As Manistee Chippewas, we are all leaders in our own way. Chips Lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Chips are reliable, honest, and dependable

R | RESPECTFUL — Chips are considerate of the beliefs and opinions of others

A | ACCEPTING — Chips welcome diversity without judgment

C | COOPERATIVE — Chips work together towards common goals

K | KIND — Chips are thoughtful, helpful, and appreciative


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their Chippewa Journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.

Academic Opportunities
  • One-to-One Device District
  • Designated Apple School
  • National Honor Society
  • Honors & Advanced Placement Courses
  • Tutoring
  • Community Job Shadowing & Mentorships
  • WSCC Career Training Opportunities
  • Advanced Placement Classes
  • Dual Enrollment
  • Forensics
  • Science Olympiad
  • Quiz Bowl
  • Adventure Learning – Overnight Field Trips
  • Personal Challenge Program
  • Peer Listening/Mentoring
  • Math Counts Competition
Extracurricular Activities
  • JV & Varsity Sports
  • Choir
  • Marching Band
  • Jazz Band
  • Gender & Sexuality Alliance
  • Theater Productions
  • Dance
  • Powerlifting
  • School Dances
  • Homecoming
  • Winter White Out
  • Youth in Government
  • Cheerleading
  • Swimming Pool
  • Foreign Language Clubs & Trips
  • Social Clubs
Parent Involvement

Become a partner in your student’s education!

The first place you’ll notice our commitment to excellence is right here on our outstanding web page. Please review our MMHS Resources page for tools to support you as a partner in your student’s education. You will also want to make sure you have set up an account for PowerSchool.  This interactive tool lets you see what and how your student is doing in every single class, and is a quick and easy way to communicate with all teachers. For graduation requirements, academic information, building and athletic policies and more visit our MMHS Handbook page to review Student Handbook. Information.

For a look at our seasonal sports schedule, click on the Activities tab on the top.  Also, make sure you refer to our Announcements tab at the top of the page.

We would also like to remind both students and parents of our student email accounts.  You can expect the office and other MHS groups to increasingly send information using these accounts. Students may check their accounts utilizing the school network, clicking on the link on the MMHS Resources page.

Finally, be sure to check out one of our favorites – our Featured Alumni link located in the Alumni tab above.  Here you’ll see stories of past students who help to generate our Chippewa Pride every day. We continue to be proud of the great things our students achieve beyond MHS.  If you know of an alumni who should have his or her story told, please e-mail us at ahuber@manistee.org or jtraviss@manistee.org.