Manistee Area Public Schools Faculty & Staff

On the Leading EDGE

Our students are engaged by educators that empower and inspire their students to recognize their potential, dream big, and make a difference in the world around them.

With a strong desire to rise to the needs of each and every student, the MAPS Administrative Team ensures the campus and faculty offer a diverse and expansive learning environment incorporating innovation in all facilities and programming with strong fiscal management.

Chips Lead!

E – Enrichment– Driving all students toward their full potential

D – Diversity– Providing opportunities meeting the goals of every student

G – Goal-centered– Focusing on individualized ambitions and achievement

E – Endurance– Equipping all learners with physical, emotional and academic skills for success

District News

Central Office & Administration


Location: 550 Maple St, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: (231) 723-3521
Central Office Hours: M-F: 8am – 4:30pm


Superintendent: Ronald Stoneman

Board of Education President: Paul Antal, MD

Central Office Staff

Ronald Stoneman
Superintendent - rstoneman@manistee.org

Howard Vaas
Business Manager - hvaas@manistee.org

Sue Gustad
Assistant Business Manager - sgustad@manistee.org

Sara Schubert
Payroll/Insurance/Lunch - sschubert@manistee.org

Nancy Day
Administrative Assistant - nday@manistee.org

View MMHS Staff
MMHS Staff    
 
 Name  Title / Grade / Content Area  Email
  Administrative Staff  
 Andy Huber  HS/MS Principal  ahuber@manistee.org
 Jason Traviss  HS/MS Assistant Principal  jtraviss@manistee.org
 Denise Slonecki  Administrative Assistant  dslonecki@manistee.org
  Guidance  
 Paul Howes  Guidance Counselor  phowes@manistee.org
 Penny Kiss  Guidance Secretary  pkiss@manistee.org
 Todd Garber  Student Recovery Classroom  tgarber@manistee.org
 Karen Sundbeck  Student Recovery Classroom  ksundbeck@manistee.org
 Kelsey Rhodes  MCAN College Adviser / Credit Recovery Coordinator  krhodes@manistee.org
   Activities   
 Matt Kieffer  Athletic Director  mkieffer@manistee.org
 Beth Forbes  Activities Secretary  bforbes@manistee.org
   District Technology  
 Kenneth Blakey-Shell  District Technology Director  kblakeyshell@manistee.org
 Gabe Delgado  Elementary Device Support gdelgado@manistee.org
Matt Froncek  Apple Certified Technician  mfroncek@manistee.org
David Gagstetter  Data & Device Systems dgagstetter@manistee.org
  SafeNet  
Sonya Broadbent   sbroadbent@manistee.org
   MMHS School Instructional Staff  
 Stacey Andrews-Ramsey Spanish / Social Science sandrews@manistee.org
 Gregg Bennett Social Science gbennett@manistee.org
 Dan Burns  Language Arts  dburns@manistee.org
 Troy Bytwork  Social Science  tbytwork@manistee.org
 Amanda Clemons  English  aclemons@manistee.org
 Amanda Feyen  Choir  afeyen@manistee.org
 Joe Hendges  Social Science  jhendges@manistee.org
 Marcy Huber  Math  mhuber@manistee.org
 Kristen Johnson  Special Education  kjohnson@manistee.org
 Sam Joseph  Language Arts  sjoseph@manistee.org
 Connie Josvai  Language Arts  cjosvai@manistee.org
 Monte Klein  Art  mklein@manistee.org
 Brooke Koller  Special Education  bkoller@manistee.org
 Michelle LaPrad  Science  mlaprad@manistee.org
 Andrea Mack  Instrumental Music  amack@manistee.org
 Chelsea Matley  PE/Health  cmatley@manistee.org
 Cassie Miller  PE/Health  cmmiller@manistee.org
 Troy Nezki  Math  tnezki@manistee.org
 Morgan Nowicki  Language Arts  mnowicki@manistee.org
 Ryan O'Donnell  Science  rodonnell@manistee.org
 Wendy Orton  Family & Consumer Science, Special Education  worton@manistee.org
 Matt Phillips  Science  mphillips@manistee.org
 Kevin Postma  Science  kpostma@manistee.org
 Dan Saylor  Social Science dsaylor@manistee.org
 Polly Schlaff  Spanish / ELA  pschlaff@manistee.org
 Joel Smith  Social Studies  smithj@manistee.org
 Kathy Smith  Math  ksmith@manistee.org
 Hannah Starmann  Language Arts  hstarmann@manistee.org
 Michael Swanson  Math  mswanson@manistee.org
 Eric Thuemmel  Math  ethuemmel@manistee.org
 Michael Tilmann II  PE/Health  mtilmann@manistee.org
 Brian Veine  Video/Math  bveine@manistee.org
 Bridget Warnke  Science  bdontz@manistee.org
 Amy Watkins  Math  awatkins@manistee.org
 Sara Workman  Special Education  sworkman@manistee.org
 Nicholas Zacek  Language Arts  nzacek@manistee.org
Devin Schweigert Lt Sub 7th Grade Science dschweigert@manistee.org
     
Paraprofessionals
Ingrid Bond  Band Paraprofessional ibond@manistee.org
 Nina Bromley  Paraprofessional  nbromley@manistee.org
Kristen Mezeske One to One Paraprofessional kmezeske@manistee.org
Cindy Sheathelm One to One Paraprofessional csheathelm@manistee.org
Sarah Wallett One to One Paraprofessional swallett@manistee.org
 Jennifer Williams  MS Activities Director  jwilliams@manistee.org
     
 MMHS School Custodial
Don Froncek Custodian dfroncek@manistee.org
Dan Lloyd  Head / Day Custodian  dlloyd@manistee.org
James Kropacek  Evening Custodian  jkropacek@manistee.org
Mark Thrailkill  Evening Custodian  mthrailkill@manistee.org
     
Nutrition Service
 Keri Carlson Nutrition Service Director  kcarlson@manistee.org
Stacy Applegarth Nutrition Service bapplegarth@manistee.org
Melissa Gutkowski Nutrition Service mgutkowski@manistee.org
 Kendra Mikolajczak Nutrition Service  kmikolajczak@manistee.org
Melissa Thomas Nutrition Service mthomas@manistee.org
Ray Summers Nutrition Service rsummers@manistee.org
 Linda Wandrych Nutrition Service  lwandrych@manistee.org
  Facilities  
Don Olk   dolk@manistee.org
Jeff Bowerman   jbowerman@manistee.org
  Paine Aquatic Center  
Corey VanFleet   cvanfleet@manistee.org
     
     
View Kennedy Staff
Administrative Team

Principal: Kevin Schmutzler | kschmutzler@manistee.org

Assistant Principal: Kenn Kott | kkott@manistee.org

Administrative Assistant: Holly Dahlquist | hdahlquist@manistee.org 


Instructional Staff

Wendy Adamski 
Specials - PE/Health wadamski@manistee.org 

Leah Antal 
3rd Grade Teacher lantal@manistee.org 

Laura Brown 
4th Grade Teacher lbrown@manistee.org 

Don Demeuse 
5th Grade Teacher  ddemeuse@manisee.org 

Dana Dobis 
Resource Room ddobis@manistee.org

William Edmondson
Title 1 Teacher  wedmondson@manistee.org

Amanda Feyen
Elementary Music  afeyen@manistee.org

Sara Franklin
4th Grade Teacher sfranklin@manistee.org

Tanya Hunter
5th Grade Teacher thunter@manistee.org

Amanda Johns 
4th Grade Teacher ajohns@manistee.org 

Taylor Johnson 
5th Grade Teacher tjohnson@manistee.org 

Andrea Mack 
Specials - Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org 

Emily Noteware 
Resource Room enoteware@manistee.org  

Josh Smith 
3rd Grade Teacher jsmith@manistee.org 

Scott Solberg
SafeNet  ssolberg@manistee.org

Kayla Szokola 
3rd Grade Teacher kszokola@manistee.org

Jaclyn Trahan
5th Grade Teacher jtrahan@manistee.org

Mary Wahr
Specials - Art mwahr@manistee.org

Andrea Wegener 
Resource Room awegener@manistee.org 

Jane Wojciechowski
3rd Grade Teacher jlwojciechowski@manistee.org 

Kelly Zimmerman  
4th Grade Teacher kzimmerman@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Johanna Beverly  jbeverly@manistee.org

Ingrid Bond  ibond@manistee.org

Karla Hilliard kjhilliard@manistee.org

Tara Lange  tlange@manistee.org

Krissy Onstott konstott@manistee.org

Amy Rankin arankin@manistee.org

Beryl Salzman bsalzman@manistee.org

Austin Slawinski  aslawinski@manistee.org

Sandra Turk sturk@manistee.org

Michele Traviss  mtraviss@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Carol Hansen  chansen@manistee.org

Terri Morski  tmorski@manistee.org

Julie Polcyn  jpolcyn@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Clarence Shultz  cschultz@manistee.org

Ray Willim  rwillim@manistee.org

 

View Jefferson Staff
Administrative Staff

Julia Raddatz, Principal   raddatzj@manistee.org

Kenneth Kott, Assistant Principal  kkott@manistee.org

Connie Miller, Administrative Assistant   camiller@ manistee.org

Instructional Staff

Sherry Anderson, Long-term Sub Kindergarten  sanderson@manistee.org

Jennifer Abel, First Grade   jabel@manistee.org

Elizabeth Adams, Kindergarten    eadams@manistee.org

McAnn Bradford, Second Grade  mbradford@manistee.org

Daniel Brown, Second Grade  dbrown@manistee.org

Linda Coyle, Special Education  lcoyle@manistee.org

Andrea Dejong, Second Grade   adejong@manistee.org 

Bill Edmondson, Physical Education  wedmondson@manistee.org

Deb Erdman, First Grade  derdman@manistee.org 

Amanda Feyen, Music afeyen@manistee.org 

Debbie Forward, First Grade dforward@manistee.org 

Staci Johnson, First Grade sjohnson@manistee.org Ruth Simoneau, Literacy Coach  rsimoneau@manistee.org 

Cindy Lundberg, Kindergarten  clundberg@manistee.org

Tracy Shimel, SafeNet  tshimel@manistee.org

Ruth Simoneau, Title I, Literacy Coach   rsimoneau@manistee.org

Christine Slawinski, Kindergarten cslawinski@manistee.org

Bryan Tomaszewski, Second Grade  btomaszewski@manistee.org

Allison Veine, Kindergarten aveine@manistee.org

Mary Wahr, Art mwahr@manistee.org  

Michelle Wilson, First Grade mwilson@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Mary Chick                         mchick@manistee.org

Sheila Kaminski                 skaminski@manistee.org                  

Rachel Lindeman            rlindeman@manistee.org

Randee Oleniczak             roleniczak@manistee.org                  

Connie Rybicki                  crybicki@manistee.org

Laura Savela                    lsavela@manistee.org 

Sara Schultz                     sschultz@manistee.org

Jan Wills                           jwills@manistee.org

Anna Wojcik                     awojcik@manistee.org

Julie Zajac                          jzajac@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Ken Guenthardt                kguenthardt@manistee.org

Tom Madsen                    tmadsen@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Laura Olk                         lolk@manistee.org      

View Madison Staff
Instructional Staff

 Amber Hiipakka - Pre-School Teacher Assistant  ahiipakka@manistee.org

Sandy Ludwig - Pre-School Teacher & After School Program - sludwig@manistee.org

MAPS Great Start Readiness Program

Amy Brown, Lead Teacher  abrown@manistee.org

Guiding Our Philosophy

Mission

“Chips lead by providing an inclusive, high-quality, diverse educational environment that inspires and fulfills the goals of all learners at every stage of their journey.”

Vision

“Leading a connected Manistee learning community, which supports the educational journey of each individual student, delivering The Chippewa Edge.”

MAPS Leading-Edge Promise

We provide every student with the knowledge and values necessary to become productive and successful citizens of our world. With innovation, dedication, and integrity, we create a learning environment that inspires every student and educator to reach their highest potential.

Goals

– Deliver on our promise to help every student learn
– Support a collaborative learning and working environment
– Bring focused and positive energy to everything we do
– Minimize behaviors/actions/decisions that drain our resources

Guiding Principle: We believe all students can learn.

Non-Negotiable: Achievement – We will find the potential in each student and create an environment that supports their learning.

Definition
  • Every child that enters our school district will receive our attention and dedication to finding the keys to their personal success.
U

Guiding Principle: All decisions we make are based upon impact to effect learning.

Non-NegotiableImpact– We will focus all efforts on seeking ways to support and extend learning.

Definition
  • Our focus is always on student learning.
  • We are open-minded, lifelong learners who stay in touch with, share, and use research-based practices.
  • We identify and revise practices that do not help students learn.

Guiding Principle: We focus on goals that drive achievement.

Non-Negotiable: ResultsWe will set measurable goals, identify improvement strategies, and skillfully adapt instruction to meet student needs.

Definition
  • Assessment results are used to inform us about the effectiveness of curricular and instructional decisions.
  • We analyze assessment results hold data-driven discussions and make impactful decisions for improved student achievement.
  • We establish attainable goals for specific measurables, in both instructional efforts and individual student progress.
~

Guiding Principle: We are committed to an atmosphere of mutual respect and trust.

Non-Negotiable: Accountability– We will lead by example and take responsibility for the energy we bring to all that we do.

Definition
  • We reflect the values of our Mission & Vision in our daily practice. When our actions match our words, we build trust and respect with each other, our students, and our support community.
  • We work together to establish an atmosphere of trust and respect, in which we can all feel safe to communicate.
  • Our interactions with students and each other are characterized by the tenets of TRACK.
  • We allow individuals to feel comfortable discussing their observations or concerns with one another because they know they will not be judged or punished.
  • Disagreements are treated with respect and acknowledged as an opportunity to learn and grow.
  • Each individual is given equal time to express an opinion or share an idea.

Guiding Principle: We believe that all students belong to all of us.

Non-Negotiable: GuidanceWe will hold ourselves responsible for supporting the educational experience of all MAPS students throughout our district.

Definition
  • We accept and act on the belief that all students belong to all adults.
  • We are committed to working beyond the boundaries of our classrooms and buildings to serve the needs of every student.
  • We work together for the success of all students, there is no blame when things do not go well, but instead we are committed to seeking solutions to problems or setbacks in the interest of each and every student’s achievement.
/

Guiding Principle: Working together enables us to attain our desired outcomes.

Non-Negotiable: Collaboration-We will reach beyond our classrooms and work with each other to identify and support the strengths of every student.

Definition
  • We work together to positively impact student achievement and deliver the Leading-Edge Promise.
  • We focus on and speak only in solutions.
  • Participation in culture building is both a right and a responsibility.
  • TRACK guides the development of character and a positive school environment and is primary to our success as individuals and our ability to instill these values in our students and each other.
  • Our commitment to communication allows for a productive work environment and therefore student success.
  • We put education first, and we know we can deliver on this when we encourage each other to share our best ideas and work collaboratively.
  • Ideas which lead to increased student learning are recognized and praised by peers.

Staff Resources

Strategic Plan

Letter from Board President and Superintendent

Manistee Area Public Schools 2012-2017 Strategic Plan: Participants Help Shape Vision and Goals for Future of MAPS

The documents below contain the 2012-17 MAPS Strategic Plan. We’re excited about this plan and the possibilities it provides for our students, parents and community to improve education at MAPS.
This plan is the culmination of three community forums, four staff forums, one student forum, one Strategic Planning Team retreat and an electronic survey of more than 109 students, parents, staff and community members.
Throughout the planning process the community expressed high expectations of MAPS becoming a world class school district and having all students graduate from high school. Even though some of the goals are extremely high, they reflect the strong desire that has been expressed to embrace significant change and dramatically improve the school system.
There were several clear and consistent themes that emerged from this process.
  1. While much more work needs to be done, MAPS is headed in the right direction with positive momentum behind the academic growth, instruction reforms and innovative new school choices.
  2. The future of growth and success of MAPS must be a top community priority that requires support from all stakeholders (students, parents, taxpayers, businesses, non-profits, foundations, government agencies, etc.).
  3. As a district, we must do a better job of positively engaging and aligning internal (students, parents, staff and the school board) and external (taxpayers, community organizations, businesses, non-profits, government agencies, elected officials) stakeholders around common goals and strategies to significantly improve academic achievement and high school graduation rates.
Our Strategic Planning Team, comprised of a very broad and diverse group of more than 30 stakeholders, developed the goals. We look forward to continuing to work in partnership with all sectors of our community to implement these goals and suggested strategies.
President of the Board                                                                Superintendent

Manistee Area Public Schools Employment Postings

Manistee Area Public Schools is an equal opportunity employer.

District Policy:  Nondiscrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin or ancestry, gender, age, disability, height, weight or marital status in all activities and employment.

 

Substitute Teachers